skip to main content

S.J.Res. 62 (103rd): A joint resolution to designate the week beginning April 25, 1993, as “National Crime Victims’ Right Week”.

The text of the resolution below is as of Apr 22, 1993 (Passed Congress).

S.J.Res. 62

One Hundred Third Congress

of the

United States of America


Begun and held at the City of Washington on Tuesday,

the fifth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-three

Joint Resolution

To designate the week beginning April 25, 1993, as ‘National Crime

Victims’ Rights Week’.

Whereas there were over thirty-five million crimes committed last year in America, with one violent crime occurring every seventeen seconds;

Whereas victims of crime across America deserve respect and assistance not only from the criminal justice system, but from society as well;

Whereas there is a crucial need to provide crime victims with quality programs and services to help them recover from the devastating psychological, physical, emotional, and financial hardships resulting from their victimization;

Whereas there are ten thousand public and private agencies and organizations in the United States that are dedicated to improving the plight of crime victims;

Whereas the Nation’s victims’ rights movement and allied professions deserve recognition for their tireless efforts on behalf of victims of crime and to reduce senseless violence in America; and

Whereas it is essential for all Americans to join together and commit their individual and collective resources to victim assistance and violence reduction: Now, therefore, be it

    Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That the week beginning April 25, 1993, is hereby designated as ‘National Crime Victims’ Rights Week’. The President is authorized and requested to issue a proclamation calling upon the people of the United States to observe the week with appropriate ceremonies and activities.

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Vice President of the United States and

President of the Senate.