skip to main content

H.R. 1874 (104th): To modify the boundaries of the Talladega National Forest, Alabama.

The text of the bill below is as of Oct 3, 1996 (Passed Congress).


One Hundred Fourth Congress

of the

United States of America


Begun and held at the City of Washington on Wednesday,

the third day of January, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-six

An Act

To modify the boundaries of the Talladega National Forest, Alabama.

    Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,


    (a) BOUNDARY MODIFICATION- The exterior boundaries of the Talladega National Forest are hereby modified to include the following described lands:

      Huntsville Meridian, Township 17 South, Range 8 East, Section 34, NE 1/4 , SW 1/4 , and S 1/2 NW 1/4 , Cleburne County, containing 399.40 acres, more or less.

      Huntsville Meridian, Township 13 South, Range 9 East, Section 28, SE 1/4 , Calhoun County, containing 160.00 acres, more or less.

    (b) ADMINISTRATION- (1) Subject to valid existing rights, all Federal lands described under subsection (a) are hereby added to and shall be administered as part of the Talladega National Forest, and the Secretary of the Interior shall transfer, without reimbursement, administrative jurisdiction over such lands to the Secretary of Agriculture.

    (2) Nothing in this section shall be construed to affect the validity of or the terms and conditions of any existing right-of-way, easement, lease, license, or permit on lands transferred by subsection (a), except that such lands shall be administered by the Forest Service. Reissuance of any authorization shall be in accordance with the laws and regulations generally applying to the Forest Service, and the change of jurisdiction over such lands resulting from the enactment of this Act shall not constitute a ground for the denial of renewal or reissuance of such authorization.

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Vice President of the United States and

President of the Senate.