skip to main content

H.R. 3563 (109th): National Forest Roadless Area Conservation Act

The text of the bill below is as of Jul 28, 2005 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. R. 3563


July 28, 2005

(for himself, Mr. Boehlert, Mr. Rahall, Mr. Shays, Mr. Wu, Mrs. Johnson of Connecticut, Mr. George Miller of California, Mr. Brown of Ohio, Mr. Leach, Mr. Payne, Ms. Baldwin, Mr. McDermott, Ms. Lee, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Honda, Mr. Nadler, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Case, Ms. Hooley, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Van Hollen, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Serrano, Mr. Smith of New Jersey, Mr. Frank of Massachusetts, Mr. Farr, Mr. Kind, Mr. Boucher, Mr. Moran of Virginia, Mr. Stark, Ms. DeGette, Mr. Sanders, Mr. Miller of North Carolina, Mr. Blumenauer, Mr. Costello, Mr. Owens, Ms. DeLauro, Mr. Cummings, Mrs. Davis of California, Mr. Moore of Kansas, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Mr. Lantos, Mr. Dingell, Mrs. McCarthy, Mr. Waxman, Mr. Engel, Mr. Lynch, Ms. Harman, Mr. Hinchey, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Doggett, Mr. Michaud, Mr. Kirk, Mr. Gutierrez, Mr. Markey, Mr. Wexler, Mrs. Napolitano, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Larson of Connecticut, Ms. Schwartz of Pennsylvania, Mr. Holt, Ms. Kilpatrick of Michigan, Mr. Sabo, Mr. Sherman, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Doyle, Mr. Menendez, Mr. Spratt, Mr. Butterfield, Mr. Rothman, Mr. Weiner, Mr. Filner, Mr. Allen, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Mr. Towns, Mr. Tierney, Mrs. Maloney, Ms. McCollum of Minnesota, Mr. Johnson of Illinois, Ms. Corrine Brown of Florida, Ms. Berkley, Mr. Ramstad, Mrs. Capps, Mr. Fattah, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Kucinich, Mr. DeFazio, Mr. Lewis of Georgia, Mr. Schiff, Mr. Carnahan, Mr. Cardin, Mr. Kennedy of Rhode Island, Mr. Clyburn, Mr. Chandler, Ms. Solis, Mr. Gene Green of Texas, Ms. Slaughter, Mr. Clay, Mr. Reyes, Mr. Larsen of Washington, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Mr. Olver, Mr. Levin, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Berman, Mrs. Tauscher, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Mr. Snyder, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Mr. Neal of Massachusetts, Mr. McNulty, Ms. Eshoo, Mrs. Jones of Ohio, Ms. Norton, Ms. Woolsey, Ms. Millender-McDonald, Mr. Evans, Mr. Strickland, Mr. Crowley, Ms. Loretta Sanchez of California, Mr. Ryan of Ohio, Mr. Meek of Florida, Ms. Jackson-Lee of Texas, Mr. Ferguson, Mr. Ackerman, Mr. Pastor, Mr. Conyers, Mr. Ford, Mr. Becerra, Ms. Linda T. Sánchez of California, Ms. Matsui, Mr. Watt, Mr. Cleaver, Ms. Zoe Lofgren of California, Mr. Rush, Mr. Meehan, Ms. Pelosi, Ms. Carson, Ms. Kaptur, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Israel, Mrs. Lowey, and Ms. Waters) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Agriculture, and in addition to the Committee on Resources, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned


To protect inventoried roadless areas in the National Forest System.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the National Forest Roadless Area Conservation Act.


National forest inventoried roadless areas


Identification of inventoried roadless areas

The inventoried roadless areas within the National Forest System set forth in the maps contained in the Forest Service Roadless Area Conservation, Final Environmental Impact Statement, Volume 2, dated November 2000, shall be known and identified as National Forest Inventoried Roadless Areas. The Forest Service may modify such maps for the sole purpose of improving their accuracy or inclusiveness. Any substantial modification of such maps shall be made through the national forest management planning process and documented in an environmental impact statement.


Management and protection

The Secretary of Agriculture shall manage the National Forest Inventoried Roadless Areas identified in subsection (a) to maintain the roadless character and values of the areas in accordance with the final rule and record of decision published in the Federal Register on January 12, 2001 (66 Fed. Reg. 3244 et seq.).