skip to main content

H.Res. 587 (109th): Congratulating Tony Stewart on winning the 2005 NASCAR Nextel Cup Championship.

The text of the bill below is as of Dec 15, 2005 (Passed the House).


H. Res. 587

In the House of Representatives, U.S.,

December 14, 2005.

Whereas Tony Stewart won NASCAR's Nextel Cup Championship in 2005, the 57th season of NASCAR's premier series;

Whereas Stewart finished with an amazing 6,533 points, the most for any driver in the 2005 NASCAR series;

Whereas Stewart in the 2005 series won 3 starting pole positions, had 5 wins, 17 top 5 finishes, and 25 top 10 finishes;

Whereas Stewart also won the Gatorade Duel 2, the Dodge/Save Mart 350, the Pepsi 400, the New England 300, and the Sirius Satellite Radio at the Glen;

Whereas Stewart's #20 car started in 22nd position, led the most laps, and also finished first in the Allstate 400 at the Brickyard, continuing Hoosier dominance at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's only NASCAR Nextel Cup race;

Whereas Stewart is the recipient of Indiana's highest honor, the Sagamore of the Wabash, which was awarded to him by Governor Mitch Daniels on August 29, 2005, after Stewart won the Allstate 400 at the Brickyard;

Whereas Stewart has won 2 NASCAR Nextel Cup Championships in only his 7th year in the NASCAR circuit;

Whereas Stewart has won 8 other auto racing championships in his career including the Indy Racing League;

Whereas Stewart has ranked in the top 10 every season since his 1999 rookie year and has never ranked lower than 7th in the final point standings; and

Whereas Stewart, who began racing in Indiana and excelled at a very young age, was born in Columbus, Indiana, and continues to have close ties with the State of Indiana and the City of Columbus: Now, therefore, be it

    Resolved, That the House of Representatives congratulates Tony Stewart for winning the 2005 NASCAR Nextel Cup Championship.