skip to main content

H.R. 2 (110th): Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007

The text of the bill below is as of Jan 5, 2007 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. R. 2


January 5, 2007

(for himself, Mr. Hoyer, Mr. Donnelly, Mr. Al Green of Texas, Mr. Ackerman, Mr. Allen, Mr. Altmire, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Arcuri, Mr. Baca, Mr. Baird, Ms. Baldwin, Ms. Bean, Mr. Becerra, Ms. Berkley, Mr. Berman, Mr. Berry, Mr. Bishop of New York, Mr. Blumenauer, Ms. Bordallo, Mr. Boswell, Mr. Boucher, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Mr. Braley of Iowa, Mr. Butterfield, Mrs. Capps, Mr. Capuano, Mr. Cardoza, Mr. Carnahan, Mr. Carney, Ms. Castor, Mr. Chandler, Mrs. Christensen, Ms. Clarke, Mr. Clay, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Clyburn, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Conyers, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Costello, Mr. Courtney, Mr. Crowley, Mr. Cuellar, Mr. Cummings, Mr. Davis of Illinois, Mr. Davis of Alabama, Mr. DeFazio, Ms. DeGette, Mr. Delahunt, Ms. DeLauro, Mr. Dicks, Mr. Dingell, Mr. Doggett, Mr. Doyle, Mr. Ellison, Mr. Ellsworth, Mr. Emanuel, Mr. Engel, Ms. Eshoo, Mr. Etheridge, Mr. Faleomavaega, Mr. Farr, Mr. Fattah, Mr. Filner, Mr. Frank of Massachusetts, Ms. Giffords, Mrs. Gillibrand, Mr. Gordon of Tennessee, Mr. Gene Green of Texas, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Gutierrez, Mr. Hall of New York, Mr. Hare, Ms. Harman, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Ms. Herseth, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Hill, Mr. Hinchey, Mr. Hinojosa, Ms. Hirono, Mr. Hodes, Mr. Holden, Mr. Holt, Mr. Honda, Ms. Hooley, Mr. Inslee, Mr. Israel, Mr. Jackson of Illinois, Ms. Jackson-Lee of Texas, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Mr. Kagen, Mr. Kanjorski, Ms. Kaptur, Mr. Kildee, Ms. Kilpatrick of Michigan, Mr. Kind, Mr. Klein of Florida, Mr. Kucinich, Mr. Lampson, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Lantos, Mr. Larsen of Washington, Mr. Larson of Connecticut, Mr. LaTourette, Ms. Lee, Mr. Levin, Mr. Lewis of Georgia, Mr. Lipinski, Mr. LoBiondo, Mr. Loebsack, Ms. Zoe Lofgren of California, Mrs. Lowey, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Mahoney of Florida, Mrs. Maloney of New York, Mr. Markey, Ms. Matsui, Ms. McCollum of Minnesota, Mr. McDermott, Mr. McGovern, Mr. McHugh, Mr. McIntyre, Mr. McNerney, Mr. McNulty, Mr. Meehan, Mr. Meek of Florida, Mr. Michaud, Ms. Millender-McDonald, Mr. Mitchell, Mr. Moore of Kansas, Ms. Moore of Wisconsin, Mr. Moran of Virginia, Mr. Murphy of Connecticut, Mr. Patrick Murphy of Pennsylvania, Mr. Tim Murphy of Pennsylvania, Mr. Nadler, Mrs. Napolitano, Ms. Norton, Mr. Oberstar, Mr. Obey, Mr. Olver, Mr. Ortiz, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Pascrell, Mr. Pastor, Mr. Payne, Mr. Perlmutter, Mr. Peterson of Minnesota, Mr. Pomeroy, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Mr. Rahall, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Reyes, Mr. Rodriguez, Mr. Ross, Mr. Rothman, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. Rush, Mr. Ryan of Ohio, Mr. Salazar, Ms. Linda T. Sánchez of California, Mr. Sarbanes, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. Schiff, Mr. Scott of Georgia, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Mr. Serrano, Mr. Sestak, Mr. Shays, Ms. Shea-Porter, Mr. Sherman, Mr. Shuler, Mr. Sires, Mr. Skelton, Ms. Slaughter, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Smith of New Jersey, Mr. Snyder, Ms. Solis, Mr. Space, Mr. Spratt, Mr. Stark, Mr. Stupak, Ms. Sutton, Mrs. Tauscher, Mr. Thompson of Mississippi, Mr. Thompson of California, Mr. Tierney, Mrs. Jones of Ohio, Mr. Udall of Colorado, Mr. Udall of New Mexico, Mr. Van Hollen, Ms. Velázquez, Mr. Walsh of New York, Mr. Walz of Minnesota, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Ms. Waters, Ms. Watson, Mr. Waxman, Mr. Weiner, Mr. Welch of Vermont, Mr. Wexler, Mr. Wilson of Ohio, Ms. Woolsey, Mr. Wu, Mr. Wynn, and Mr. Yarmuth) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Education and Labor


To amend the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 to provide for an increase in the Federal minimum wage.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007.


Minimum wage


In general

Section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1)) is amended to read as follows:


except as otherwise provided in this section, not less than—


$5.85 an hour, beginning on the 60th day after the date of enactment of the Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007;


$6.55 an hour, beginning 12 months after that 60th day; and


$7.25 an hour, beginning 24 months after that 60th day;



Effective date

The amendment made by subsection (a) shall take effect 60 days after the date of enactment of this Act.


Applicability of minimum wage to the commonwealth of the northern mariana islands


In general

Section 6 of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C. 206) shall apply to the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.



Notwithstanding subsection (a), the minimum wage applicable to the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands under section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1)) shall be—


$3.55 an hour, beginning on the 60th day after the date of enactment of this Act; and


increased by $0.50 an hour (or such lesser amount as may be necessary to equal the minimum wage under section 6(a)(1) of such Act), beginning 6 months after the date of enactment of this Act and every 6 months thereafter until the minimum wage applicable to the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands under this subsection is equal to the minimum wage set forth in such section.