skip to main content

H.R. 2905 (110th): Broadcaster Freedom Act of 2007

The text of the bill below is as of Jun 28, 2007 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. R. 2905


June 28, 2007

(for himself, Mr. Walden of Oregon, Mr. Boehner, Mr. Blunt, Mr. Hastert, Mr. Putnam, Mr. Cantor, Mr. Hensarling, Mr. Flake, Mr. Aderholt, Mr. Akin, Mrs. Bachmann, Mr. Barrett of South Carolina, Mr. Barton of Texas, Mr. Bilbray, Mr. Bishop of Utah, Mrs. Blackburn, Mrs. Bono, Mr. Boozman, Mr. Brady of Texas, Mr. Brown of South Carolina, Ms. Ginny Brown-Waite of Florida, Mr. Burgess, Mr. Burton of Indiana, Mr. Buyer, Mr. Calvert, Mr. Camp of Michigan, Mr. Campbell of California, Mr. Cannon, Mr. Carter, Mr. Cole of Oklahoma, Mr. Conaway, Mr. Crenshaw, Mr. Culberson, Mr. Davis of Kentucky, Mr. David Davis of Tennessee, Mr. Tom Davis of Virginia, Mr. Deal of Georgia, Mr. Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida, Mr. Doolittle, Mrs. Drake, Mr. Duncan, Mr. English of Pennsylvania, Mr. Everett, Ms. Fallin, Mr. Feeney, Mr. Fortuño, Ms. Foxx, Mr. Franks of Arizona, Mr. Garrett of New Jersey, Mr. Gingrey, Mr. Gohmert, Mr. Goode, Mr. Goodlatte, Mr. Graves, Mr. Hastings of Washington, Mr. Herger, Mr. Hoekstra, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Issa, Mr. Sam Johnson of Texas, Mr. Jordan of Ohio, Mr. Keller of Florida, Mr. King of Iowa, Mr. Kingston, Mr. Kirk, Mr. Kline of Minnesota, Mr. Kuhl of New York, Mr. Lamborn, Mr. Latham, Mr. Lucas, Mr. Daniel E. Lungren of California, Mr. Mack, Mr. Marchant, Mr. McCarthy of California, Mr. McCrery, Mr. McHenry, Mr. Miller of Florida, Mr. Gary G. Miller of California, Mrs. Musgrave, Mrs. Myrick, Mr. Neugebauer, Mr. Paul, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Pitts, Mr. Poe, Mr. Price of Georgia, Mr. Radanovich, Mr. Reynolds, Mr. Royce, Mr. Ryan of Wisconsin, Mrs. Schmidt, Mr. Sensenbrenner, Mr. Sessions, Mr. Shadegg, Mr. Shuster, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Smith of Nebraska, Mr. Smith of Texas, Mr. Souder, Mr. Stearns, Mr. Terry, Mr. Tiahrt, Mr. Walberg, Mr. Weldon of Florida, Mr. Westmoreland, Mr. Whitfield, Mr. Wicker, Mr. Wilson of South Carolina, Mr. Wolf, Mr. Young of Alaska, and Mr. Upton) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Energy and Commerce


To prevent the Federal Communications Commission from repromulgating the fairness doctrine.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the Broadcaster Freedom Act of 2007.


Fairness doctrine prohibited

Title III of the Communications Act of 1934 is amended by inserting after section 303 (47 U.S.C. 303) the following new section:


Limitation on general powers: fairness doctrine

Notwithstanding section 303 or any other provision of this Act or any other Act authorizing the Commission to prescribe rules, regulations, policies, doctrines, standards, or other requirements, the Commission shall not have the authority to prescribe any rule, regulation, policy, doctrine, standard, or other requirement that has the purpose or effect of reinstating or repromulgating (in whole or in part) the requirement that broadcasters present opposing viewpoints on controversial issues of public importance, commonly referred to as the Fairness Doctrine, as repealed in General Fairness Doctrine Obligations of Broadcast Licensees, 50 Fed. Reg. 35418 (1985).