S. 494 (110th): NATO Freedom Consolidation Act of 2007

Feb 06, 2007 (110th Congress, 2007–2009)
Signed by the President
Slip Law:
This bill became Pub.L. 110-17.
Richard Lugar
Senator from Indiana
Read Text »
Last Updated
Jul 03, 2007
7 pages
Related Bills
S. 4014 (109th) was a previous version of this bill.

Passed Senate
Last Action: Nov 16, 2006

H.R. 987 (identical)

Passed House
Last Action: Mar 06, 2007


This bill was enacted after being signed by the President on April 9, 2007.

Introduced Feb 06, 2007
Referred to Committee Feb 06, 2007
Reported by Committee Mar 06, 2007
Passed Senate Mar 15, 2007
Passed House Mar 26, 2007
Signed by the President Apr 09, 2007
Full Title

A bill to endorse further enlargement of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and to facilitate the timely admission of new members to NATO, and for other purposes.


No summaries available.

7 cosponsors (5R, 2D) (show)

Senate Foreign Relations

The committee chair determines whether a bill will move past the committee stage.

Primary Source

THOMAS.gov (The Library of Congress)

GovTrack gets most information from THOMAS, which is updated generally one day after events occur. Activity since the last update may not be reflected here. Data comes via the congress project.


Get a bill status widget for your website »


Click a format for a citation suggestion:


S. stands for Senate bill.

A bill must be passed by both the House and Senate in identical form and then be signed by the president to become law.

GovTrack’s Bill Summary

We don’t have a summary available yet.

Library of Congress Summary

The summary below was written by the Congressional Research Service, which is a nonpartisan division of the Library of Congress.

4/9/2007--Public Law.
NATO Freedom Consolidation Act of 2007 - Designates Albania, Croatia, Georgia, Macedonia (FYROM), and Ukraine as eligible to receive assistance under the NATO Participation Act of 1994.
States that such designation:
(1) is in addition to the designation of Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, and Slovenia pursuant to the NATO Enlargement Facilitation Act of 1996, the designation of Romania, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Bulgaria pursuant to the European Security Act of 1998, and the designation of Slovakia pursuant to the Gerald B. H. Solomon Freedom Consolidation Act of 2002 as eligible to receive assistance under the NATO Participation Act of 1994; and
(2) shall not preclude the designation by the President of other countries as eligible to receive assistance under the NATO Participation Act of 1994.
Authorizes FY2008 appropriations for security assistance to: (1) Albania; (2) Croatia; (3) Georgia; (4) Macedonia (FYROM); and (5) Ukraine.

House Republican Conference Summary

The summary below was written by the House Republican Conference, which is the caucus of Republicans in the House of Representatives.

No summary available.

House Democratic Caucus Summary

The House Democratic Caucus does not provide summaries of bills.

So, yes, we display the House Republican Conference’s summaries when available even if we do not have a Democratic summary available. That’s because we feel it is better to give you as much information as possible, even if we cannot provide every viewpoint.

We’ll be looking for a source of summaries from the other side in the meanwhile.

Use the comment space below for discussion of the merits of S. 494 (110th) with other GovTrack users.
Your comments are not read by Congressional staff.

comments powered by Disqus