skip to main content

S.Res. 294 (110th): A resolution designating September 2007 as “National Bourbon Heritage Month”.

The text of the resolution below is as of Aug 2, 2007 (Resolution Agreed to by Senate).



1st Session

S. RES. 294


August 2, 2007

submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to


Designating September 2007 as National Bourbon Heritage Month.

Whereas Congress declared bourbon as America’s Native Spirit in 1964, making it the only spirit distinctive to the United States;

Whereas the history of bourbon-making is interwoven with the history of the United States, from the first settlers of Kentucky in the 1700s, who began the bourbon-making process, to the 2,000 families and farmers distilling bourbon in Kentucky by the 1800s;

Whereas bourbon has been used as a form of currency;

Whereas generations have continued the heritage and tradition of the bourbon-making process, unchanged from the process used by their ancestors centuries before;

Whereas individual recipes for bourbon call for natural ingredients, utilizing the local Kentucky farming community and leading to continued economic development for the Commonwealth of Kentucky;

Whereas generations of people in the United States have traveled to Kentucky to experience the family heritage, tradition, and deep-rooted legacy that the Commonwealth contributes to the United States;

Whereas each year during September visitors from over 13 countries attend a Kentucky-inspired commemoration to celebrate the history of the Commonwealth, the distilleries, and bourbon;

Whereas people who enjoy bourbon should do so responsibly and in moderation; and

Whereas members of the beverage alcohol industry should continue efforts to promote responsible consumption and to eliminate drunk driving and underage drinking: Now, therefore, be it

That the Senate—


designates September 2007 as National Bourbon Heritage Month;


recognizes bourbon as America’s Native Spirit and reinforces its heritage and tradition and its place in the history of the United States; and


recognizes the contributions of the Commonwealth of Kentucky to the culture of the United States.