skip to main content

S.Res. 359 (110th): A resolution congratulating the Boston Red Sox on winning the 2007 World Series.

The text of the bill below is as of Oct 29, 2007 (Resolution Agreed to by Senate).



1st Session

S. RES. 359


October 29, 2007

(for himself, Mr. Kerry, Mr. Reed, Mr. Whitehouse, Mr. Dodd, Mr. Lieberman, Ms. Snowe, Ms. Collins, Mr. Leahy, and Mr. Sununu) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to


Congratulating the Boston Red Sox on winning the 2007 World Series.

Whereas on October 28, 2007, the Boston Red Sox won the 2007 World Series by a 4-game sweep of the Colorado Rockies;

Whereas the Colorado Rockies deserve great credit for their historic performance during the 2007 baseball season and post-season, in which the Rockies won a remarkable 21 of the final 22 games heading into the World Series;

Whereas the Boston Red Sox victory was the second world title of the Red Sox in 4 years and the seventh world title in the 107-year history of the revered New England team;

Whereas the 2007 Red Sox world championship team, like the 2004 Red Sox world championship team, epitomized the very best in sportsmanship, team spirit, and heart in the course of winning the American League Championship Series and the World Series;

Whereas the 2007 Red Sox world championship team honored the careers of all former Red Sox legends, including Bobby Doerr, Carl Yastrzemski, Carlton Fisk, Jimmie Foxx, Cy Young, Johnny Pesky, Dom DiMaggio, Joe Cronin, Jim Rice, and Ted Williams;

Whereas the Red Sox were led back to the World Series this season by the determination of 2004 world championship team veterans, including Manny Ramirez, David Ortiz, Tim Wakefield, Curt Schilling, Jason Varitek, Mike Timlin, Kevin Youkilis, and Doug Mirabelli;

Whereas the 2007 season produced new Red Sox stars, including Josh Beckett, Jacoby Ellsbury, Dustin Pedroia, Julio Lugo, Mike Lowell, Jonathan Papelbon, Hideki Okajima, Daisuke Matsuzaka, J.D. Drew, Jon Lester, and rookie right-hander Clay Buchholz, who in his second major league start, pitched the 17th no-hitter in Red Sox history;

Whereas Red Sox manager Terry Francona has won a remarkable 2 World Series in the past 4 years at the helm of the Red Sox and assembled one of the greatest Red Sox teams of all time;

Whereas Red Sox owners John Henry and Tom Werner and Red Sox president and chief executive officer Larry Lucchino and general manager Theo Epstein ended an 86-year World Series drought in 2004 and ushered in a new era in Boston baseball that has been confirmed in 2007;

Whereas the Red Sox, playing before 44,588 Cleveland Indian fans who stood just one game away from celebrating their team's first World Series appearance in a decade, demonstrated the highest qualities of teamwork and determination by winning the first game of a historic run reminiscent of the 2004 American League Championship Series;

Whereas the Red Sox outscored their opponents 59–15 during a 7-game winning streak ending in a victory in game 4 of the World Series in Colorado;

Whereas the Red Sox have won their last 8 consecutive World Series games;

Whereas Josh Beckett, Jonathan Papelbon, and Daisuke Matsuzaka delivered masterful post-season pitching performances, and Curt Schilling demonstrated again why he is considered to be one of the most dominant post-season pitchers in baseball history;

Whereas Jon Lester exhibited incredible courage and determination and provided inspiration to many by pitching 52/3 shutout innings in game 4 of the World Series, just 1 year after undergoing chemotherapy for lymphoma;

Whereas Mike Lowell, who led the Red Sox with 120 runs-batted-in during 2007, batted .400 during the World Series, with 6 runs scored and 4 runs-batted-in, to earn the most valuable player award;

Whereas pitching phenomena Daisuke Matsuzaka and Hideki Okajima have helped produce close ties between the people of New England and Japan with their extraordinary play this year;

Whereas the entire Red Sox organization has a strong commitment to charitable causes in New England, demonstrated by the team's 54-year support of the Jimmy Fund of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, contributing to the ongoing battle against childhood cancers;

Whereas fans of the Red Sox are found in every corner of the United States and across the globe, far beyond Boston and New England; and

Whereas the members of the Red Sox Nation express their immense gratitude to the entire Red Sox team for an inspiring 2007 season and for bringing another world championship title to Boston: Now, therefore, be it

That the Senate—




the Boston Red Sox for winning the 2007 Major League Baseball World Series and the players, manager, coaches, support staff, and team owners and executives whose ability, hard work, dedication, and spirit made this season possible; and


the Colorado Rockies for their extraordinary success during the 2007 season in winning the National League Championship; and


directs the Secretary of the Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to—


Red Sox manager Terry Francona;


Red Sox general manager Theo Epstein;


Red Sox president and chief executive officer Larry Lucchino;


Red Sox principal owner John Henry; and


Red Sox chairman Tom Werner.