skip to main content

H.R. 3692 (111th): National Forest Roadless Area Conservation Act

The text of the bill below is as of Oct 1, 2009 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. R. 3692


October 1, 2009

(for himself, Mr. Hinchey, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Johnson of Illinois, Mr. Kirk, Mr. Rahall, Mr. Hare, Mr. Berman, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Nadler of New York, Mr. Van Hollen, Mrs. Maloney, Mr. George Miller of California, Mr. Moran of Virginia, Mrs. Capps, Ms. Hirono, Ms. Lee of California, Mr. Tierney, Mr. Wexler, Mr. Stark, Mr. Waxman, Mr. Boucher, Mrs. Christensen, Mr. Serrano, Mr. Wu, Mr. Murphy of Connecticut, Mr. Lewis of Georgia, Mr. Connolly of Virginia, Mr. Carnahan, Mr. Sherman, Mr. Frank of Massachusetts, Mr. Smith of Washington, Ms. Eshoo, Mr. Olver, Ms. Baldwin, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Costello, Mr. Gutierrez, Ms. Harman, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Ms. Norton, Mr. Holt, Mr. Honda, Mr. Kennedy, Ms. Zoe Lofgren of California, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Nye, Mr. Markey of Massachusetts, Mr. Heinrich, Mr. Payne, Mr. Miller of North Carolina, Mr. Quigley, Mr. Levin, Mr. DeFazio, Mr. Michaud, Mr. Ackerman, Mr. Filner, Ms. Woolsey, Ms. Berkley, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Rothman of New Jersey, Ms. Schwartz, Mr. Schiff, Mr. McNerney, Mr. Jackson of Illinois, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Mr. Ryan of Ohio, Mr. Pascrell, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Grayson, Mr. Dingell, Mr. Sarbanes, Ms. DeGette, Mr. Blumenauer, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Luján, Mr. Spratt, Mr. Clay, Ms. Speier, Ms. DeLauro, Mr. Conyers, Mr. Patrick J. Murphy of Pennsylvania, Mr. Perriello, Mr. Yarmuth, Mr. Farr, Ms. Edwards of Maryland, Mr. Sestak, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Ms. Slaughter, Mr. Snyder, Mr. McDermott, Mr. Hall of New York, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Scott of Georgia, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Chandler, Mr. Watt, Mr. Doyle, Mr. Peters, Mrs. Napolitano, Mr. Neal of Massachusetts, Mr. Israel, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Arcuri, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. Bishop of New York, Mr. Kucinich, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mr. Rush, Mr. Carson of Indiana, Ms. Waters, Mrs. Lowey, Mr. Cummings, Ms. Moore of Wisconsin, Mr. Braley of Iowa, Mrs. Davis of California, Mr. Altmire, Mr. Ellison, Mr. Moore of Kansas, Mr. Butterfield, Mr. Gonzalez, Mr. Meek of Florida, Ms. Kilroy, Mr. Massa, Ms. Castor of Florida, Mrs. McCarthy of New York, Mr. Kind, Mr. Gene Green of Texas, Mr. Pastor of Arizona, Mr. Lipinski, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Ms. Kilpatrick of Michigan, Ms. Loretta Sanchez of California, Mr. Engel, Mr. Tonko, Ms. Velázquez, Mr. Doggett, Ms. Sutton, Mr. Lance, Mr. Delahunt, Mr. Foster, Mr. Maffei, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Mr. Lynch, Ms. Tsongas, Ms. Matsui, Ms. Linda T. Sánchez of California, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, and Mr. Marshall) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Agriculture, and in addition to the Committee on Natural Resources, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned


To protect inventoried roadless areas in the National Forest System.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the National Forest Roadless Area Conservation Act.


National forest inventoried roadless areas


Identification of inventoried roadless areas

The inventoried roadless areas within the National Forest System set forth in the maps contained in the Forest Service Roadless Area Conservation, Final Environmental Impact Statement, Volume 2, dated November 2000, shall be known and identified as National Forest Inventoried Roadless Areas. The Forest Service may modify such maps for the sole purpose of improving their accuracy or inclusiveness. Any substantial modification of such maps shall be made through the national forest management planning process and documented in an environmental impact statement.


Management and protection

The Secretary of Agriculture shall manage the National Forest Inventoried Roadless Areas identified in subsection (a) to maintain the roadless character and values of the areas in accordance with the final rule and record of decision published in the Federal Register on January 12, 2001 (66 Fed. Reg. 3244 et seq.).