skip to main content

H.Res. 1054 (111th): Commending and congratulating the University of West Alabama on the occasion of its 175th anniversary.

The text of the resolution below is as of Feb 2, 2010 (Introduced). The resolution was not adopted.



2d Session

H. RES. 1054


February 2, 2010

submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and Labor


Commending and congratulating the University of West Alabama on the occasion of its 175th anniversary.

Whereas the University of West Alabama, located in Livingston, Alabama, in Sumter County, will celebrate its 175th anniversary in 2010;

Whereas the University of West Alabama was chartered in 1835 as a church-oriented female academy called Livingston Female Academy, making it one of the oldest institutions for higher learning in the State of Alabama;

Whereas the University of West Alabama now hosts over 5,000 male and female students who pursue associate, baccalaureate, masters, and education specialist degrees through traditional and online instruction;

Whereas Julie Strudwick Tutwiler, an educator from Livingston, Alabama, joined the faculty of the Academy in 1881 as co-principal with her uncle, Dr. Carlos G. Smith, and was the first individual named as President and Chief Executive Officer;

Whereas in 1883, Miss Tutwiler succeeded in convincing the Alabama State Legislature to provide a small appropriation to the Academy, believed to be the first appropriations made by the State of Alabama exclusively for the education of women;

Whereas following Miss Tutwiler’s retirement in 1910, Dr. George W. Brock assumed the presidency and in 1915, under his guidance, the school began to admit men as full time students;

Whereas following Miss Tutwiler and Dr. Brock’s terms as Presidents, several individuals continued to contribute to the progress of the University during the 20th century, Dr. Noble F. Greenhill proceeded Dr. Brock from 1936 to 1944, Dr. William W. Hill (1944–1954), Dr. Delos P. Culp (1954–1963), Dr. John E. Deloney (1963–1972), Dr. Asa N. Green (1973–1993), Dr. Don C. Hines (1994–1998), Dr. Ed D. Roach (1998–2002), and Dr. Richard D. Holland (2002–present), the first alumnus to serve in this office;

Whereas the Academy was renamed in 1929 as the State Teachers College at Livingston and was given the authority to grant Bachelor of Science degrees;

Whereas in 1947, further authorization was given to the college to grant Bachelor of Arts degrees;

Whereas during World War II, the college experienced a significant decline in enrollment and faced the possibility of closure;

Whereas in 1944, when Dr. William Hill assumed the presidency, the institution made recruitment of returning service men a high priority;

Whereas in 1957, the school became Livingston State College;

Whereas it was during this phase of the college’s development that the graduate division was established and the first masters degrees were awarded;

Whereas in 1967, the college underwent another name change to Livingston University;

Whereas in 1995, the University recognized its broader mission as a regional university serving the educational needs of all the citizens of West Alabama by changing its name to the University of West Alabama;

Whereas under the current leadership of Dr. Richard D. Holland and the Board of Trustees, the University of West Alabama has dedicated itself to helping foster improvement in the educational, economic, and cultural life of its community and region;

Whereas the University of West Alabama is now organized into six instructional units, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, the College of Business, the Julia Strudwick Tutwiler College of Education, the Ira D. Pruitt Division of Nursing, and the School of Graduate Studies; and

Whereas by providing an environment conducive to excellence in education and encouraging students to learn by their own initiative in addition to learning under the tutelage of an exceptional faculty, the University of West Alabama is developing not only college graduates, but responsible citizens and leaders for Alabama and the Nation: Now, therefore, be it

That the House of Representatives—


commends and congratulates the University of West Alabama on the occasion of its 175th anniversary; and


directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit a copy of this resolution to University of West Alabama President, Dr. Richard D. Holland for appropriate display.