skip to main content

H.Res. 870 (111th): Expressing gratitude and appreciation to the individuals and families who participated in the Taxpayer March on Washington on September 12, 2009.

The text of the bill below is as of Oct 26, 2009 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. RES. 870


October 26, 2009

(for himself, Mr. Pence, Mrs. Blackburn, Mr. Akin, Mr. Austria, Mrs. Bachmann, Mr. Bachus, Mr. Bartlett, Mr. Barton of Texas, Mr. Bilbray, Mr. Bilirakis, Mr. Bishop of Utah, Mr. Bonner, Mr. Brady of Texas, Mr. Broun of Georgia, Mr. Brown of South Carolina, Ms. Ginny Brown-Waite of Florida, Mr. Burton of Indiana, Mr. Cantor, Mr. Campbell, Mr. Carter, Mr. Cassidy, Mr. Chaffetz, Mr. Coffman of Colorado, Mr. Cole, Mr. Culberson, Mr. Davis of Kentucky, Ms. Fallin, Mr. Forbes, Mr. Franks of Arizona, Ms. Granger, Mr. Gingrey of Georgia, Mr. Gohmert, Mr. Graves, Mr. Hall of Texas, Mr. Harper, Mr. Hensarling, Mr. Herger, Mr. Hoekstra, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Issa, Ms. Jenkins, Mr. Sam Johnson of Texas, Mr. Jones, Mr. Jordan of Ohio, Mr. King of Iowa, Mr. Kline of Minnesota, Mr. Lamborn, Mr. Latta, Mr. Luetkemeyer, Mrs. Lummis, Mr. McCaul, Mr. McClintock, Mr. McHenry, Mr. McKeon, Mr. Marchant, Mr. Miller of Florida, Mr. Moran of Kansas, Mrs. Myrick, Mr. Neugebauer, Mr. Olson, Mr. Paulsen, Mr. Pitts, Mr. Posey, Mr. Roe of Tennessee, Mr. Rooney, Mr. Ryan of Wisconsin, Mrs. Schmidt, Mr. Shimkus, Mr. Smith of Texas, Mr. Souder, Mr. Stearns, Mr. Sullivan, Mr. Wamp, Mr. Westmoreland, and Mr. Wilson of South Carolina) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform


Expressing gratitude and appreciation to the individuals and families who participated in the Taxpayer March on Washington on September 12, 2009.

Whereas, on September 12, 2009, hundreds of thousands of American patriots, who refuse to sit idly by as the Federal Government advances skyrocketing deficits, taxpayer-funded bailouts, pork-barrel projects, burdensome taxes, unaccountable policy czars, command-and-control energy policy, and a government takeover of health care, came to Washington, DC, to show their disapproval;

Whereas individuals also wanted to convey their displeasure with the future tax increases that will be required to pay for deficit-financed spending;

Whereas these individuals understand that the fundamental American principles of limited government and personal liberty are under direct assault;

Whereas this dedicated group of freedom-loving Americans believe in open, accountable, responsible, constitutionally based government;

Whereas hundreds of buses, multiple caravans of cars from across the country, and many individually chartered flights, as well as thousands of lone-traveling cars and trucks, brought these patriots to Washington, DC, solely for this event;

Whereas these individuals endured considerable personal expense to get to the march, including transportation and lodging expenses, as well as lost wages in many instances;

Whereas estimates of the number of people who peacefully marched from Freedom Plaza to the West Front of the U.S. Capitol on September 12, 2009, range as high as 1,700,000 marchers;

Whereas all 50 States were represented in the march;

Whereas this event is considered to be the largest ever gathering of fiscal conservatives in Washington, DC;

Whereas special accolades are due to the grassroots citizens organizations across the country who helped individuals exercise their constitutionally protected First Amendment rights in the Nation’s capital; and

Whereas when the current trends of government expansion and freedom retrenchment are reversed, it will be due in large part to the efforts of the hundreds of thousands who marched on Washington, DC, on September 12, 2009: Now, therefore, be it

That the House of Representatives expresses its gratitude and appreciation to the hundreds of thousands of people who marched on Washington, DC, on September 12, 2009, to show their love of liberty and their grievance with recent government actions.