skip to main content
React to this resolution with an emoji:
Save your position on this bill resolution on a six-point scale from strongly oppose to strongly support:

H.Res. 972 (111th): Commending University of Alabama Running Back Mark Ingram on winning the 2009 Heisman Trophy.

The text of the bill below is as of Dec 15, 2009 (Introduced).

Source: GPO



1st Session

H. RES. 972


December 15, 2009

(for himself, Mr. Bachus, Mr. Bonner, Mr. Griffith, Mr. Rogers of Alabama, Mr. Aderholt, and Mr. Bright) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and Labor


Commending University of Alabama Running Back Mark Ingram on winning the 2009 Heisman Trophy.

Whereas Mark Ingram was born to Mark Ingram, Sr., and Shonda Ingram in Hackensack, New Jersey, on December 21, 1989;

Whereas Mark Ingram’s mother and father have instilled in him an unparalleled sense of determination and persistence which has driven him to success on and off the football field;

Whereas Mark Ingram was named the 2009 offensive player of the year by the Associated Press and continues the outstanding legacy of success as part of the University of Alabama football program;

Whereas Mark Ingram set the Crimson Tide single-season rushing record, running for 1,542 yards in the 2009 season and led the Nation in rushing with 38 runs of 10 yards or more, and 13 runs of 20 yards or more;

Whereas Mark Ingram is a Dean’s List student at the University of Alabama;

Whereas Mark Ingram caught 30 passes for 322 yards in the 2009 season;

Whereas Mark Ingram averaged 178 rushing yards per game against Top 25 teams;

Whereas Mark Ingram played an integral role in Alabama’s 32–13 victory over Florida propelling them to win the SEC Championship; and

Whereas, on December 12, 2009, Mark Ingram became the first Alabama player to receive the Heisman Trophy, college football’s most coveted and prestigious award: Now, therefore, be it

That the House of Representatives—


commends Mark Ingram on his academic and athletic accomplishments;


congratulates Mark Ingram on winning the 2009 Heisman Trophy; and


directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit a copy of this resolution to University of Alabama President Dr. Robert E. Witt and Head Football Coach Nick Saban for appropriate display.