skip to main content

H.R. 3465 (112th): National Forest Roadless Area Conservation Act

The text of the bill below is as of Nov 17, 2011 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. R. 3465


November 17, 2011

(for himself, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Markey, Ms. DeGette, Mr. Hinchey, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Berman, Mr. George Miller of California, Ms. DeLauro, Mr. Serrano, Mr. DeFazio, Mr. Blumenauer, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Moran, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Connolly of Virginia, Mr. Waxman, Mr. Honda, Ms. Zoe Lofgren of California, Mr. Levin, Mr. Gutierrez, Ms. Slaughter, Mr. Nadler, Mr. Cummings, Ms. Tsongas, Mr. Doyle, Mr. Larson of Connecticut, Ms. Schwartz, Mr. Ackerman, Mr. Carson of Indiana, Mr. Stark, Mr. Lipinski, Ms. Kaptur, Mr. Murphy of Connecticut, Mrs. Napolitano, Mr. Rahall, Mr. McDermott, Mr. Heinrich, Mr. Schiff, Ms. Edwards, Ms. McCollum, Mrs. Davis of California, Mr. Van Hollen, Mr. Garamendi, Mr. Luján, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Holt, Ms. Hirono, Mr. Braley of Iowa, Mrs. Capps, Ms. Moore, Mr. Dingell, Mr. Ryan of Ohio, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Ms. Chu, Mr. Rothman of New Jersey, Ms. Woolsey, Mr. Walz of Minnesota, Ms. Lee of California, Mr. Pascrell, Mr. McNerney, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Mr. Olver, Ms. Eshoo, Mr. Ellison, Mr. Conyers, Mrs. Maloney, Mr. Tierney, Mr. Carnahan, Ms. Norton, Ms. Velázquez, Mr. Filner, Ms. Speier, Ms. Matsui, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Mr. Farr, Ms. Jackson Lee of Texas, Mr. Quigley, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Ms. Brown of Florida, Ms. Sutton, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Sarbanes, Ms. Fudge, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Jackson of Illinois, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. Miller of North Carolina, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Doggett, Mr. Neal, Mrs. Lowey, Mr. Cicilline, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Rush, Mr. Israel, Mr. Keating, Mr. Kucinich, Ms. Richardson, Mr. Clay, Mr. Tonko, Mr. Sherman, Mr. Fattah, Mr. Johnson of Illinois, Mr. Kind, Mrs. McCarthy of New York, and Ms. Castor of Florida) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Agriculture, and in addition to the Committee on Natural Resources, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned


To protect inventoried roadless areas in the National Forest System.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the National Forest Roadless Area Conservation Act.


National forest inventoried roadless areas


Identification of inventoried roadless areas

The inventoried roadless areas within the National Forest System set forth in the maps contained in the Forest Service Roadless Area Conservation, Final Environmental Impact Statement, Volume 2, dated November 2000, shall be known and identified as National Forest Inventoried Roadless Areas. The Forest Service may modify such maps for the sole purpose of improving their accuracy or inclusiveness. Any substantial modification of such maps shall be made through the national forest management planning process and documented in an environmental impact statement.


Management and protection

The Secretary of Agriculture shall manage the National Forest Inventoried Roadless Areas identified in subsection (a) to maintain the roadless character and values of the areas in accordance with the final rule and record of decision published in the Federal Register on January 12, 2001 (66 Fed. Reg. 3244 et seq.).