skip to main content

S. 162 (112th): Cut Federal Spending Act of 2011

We don’t have a summary available yet.

The summary below was written by the Congressional Research Service, which is a nonpartisan division of the Library of Congress, and was published on Jan 25, 2011.

Cut Federal Spending Act of 2011 - Reduces FY2011 appropriations by specified amounts for: (1) the legislative branch; (2) the judicial branch; (3) the Department of Agriculture (USDA), including the Forest Service; (4) the Department of Commerce, including the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA); (5) the Department of Defense (DOD) military personnel, procurement, operations and maintenance, research and development, and War funding/Overseas Contingency; (6) the Department of Energy (DOE); (7) the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), including the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Health Resources and Services Administration, the Indian Health Service, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the National Institute of Health (NIH), and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Service Administration; (8) the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), including the Transportation Security Administration (TSA); (9) the Department of Interior, including Land and Mineral Management, the U.S. Geological Survey, the National Park Service (NPS); and (10) the Department of Justice (DOJ).

Reduces FY2011 appropriations for: (1) the Department of Labor, except for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), the Mine Safety and Health Administration, and the Employment and Training Administration (including all unemployment compensation); (2) the Department of State; (3) the Department of Transportation (DOT); (4) the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; (5) the Environment Protection Agency (EPA); (6) the General Services Administration (GSA); (7) the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA); (8) the National Science Foundation (NSF); (9) the Office of Personnel and Management (OPM); and (10) the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

Defunds entirely: (1) the Government Printing Office (GPO); (2) the Agriculture Research Service, the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, the Resources Conservation Service, and the Foreign Agricultural Service of the USDA; (3) all Department of Education programs, except the Pell grant program, which is capped; (4) all Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) programs, except Veteran housing programs, which are transferred to the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA); (5) all Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) accounts and programs of the Department of the Interior; (6) the DOJ Office of Justice Programs accounts and programs; (7) International Organizations and Conferences and International Commissions of the State Department; (8) Amtrak federal subsidies; (9) the Affordable Housing Program; (10) the Commission on Fine Arts; (11) the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC); (12) the Corporation for Public Broadcasting; (13) the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA); (14) the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH); and (15) the State Justice Institute.

Transfers: (1) all DOE accounts to DOD, and (2) the U.S. Coast Guard funds and accounts from DHS to DOD.

Excludes the VA and the Social Security Administration from funding cuts for FY2011.

Specifies FY2011 savings with respect to: (1) collection of delinquent taxes from federal employees, (2) a freeze on federal employee pay, (3) federal government travel, (4) a prohibition against union labor project agreements, (5) sale of unused federal assets, and (6) the federal government vehicle budget.

Repeals the Davis-Bacon Act and the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP), with specified resulting savings.