skip to main content

S.Res. 507 (112th): A resolution congratulating the Miami Heat for winning the National Basketball Association Championship.

The text of the bill below is as of Jun 26, 2012 (Resolution Agreed to by Senate).



2d Session

S. RES. 507


June 26, 2012

(for himself and Mr. Nelson of Florida) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to


Congratulating the Miami Heat for winning the National Basketball Association Championship.

Whereas, on June 21, 2012, the Miami Heat defeated the Oklahoma City Thunder by a score of 121 to 106 in Miami, Florida, winning the second National Basketball Association (NBA) Championship in the history of the Miami Heat franchise;

Whereas, during the 2012 NBA Playoffs, the Heat defeated the New York Knicks, the Indiana Pacers, the Boston Celtics, and the Oklahoma City Thunder;

Whereas the Heat became the first team to win an NBA title after trailing in three different postseason series;

Whereas, after losing the first game of the NBA Finals, the Heat came back to win 4 games in a row, which earned the team an overall record of 62-27 and the right to be named NBA champions;

Whereas LeBron James, who averaged 28.6 points during the Finals, was named the Most Valuable Player of the NBA Finals;

Whereas Dwyane Wade and Udonis Haslem have been integral players on both Miami Heat championship teams;

Whereas Chris Bosh returned from serious injury to contribute significantly to the team;

Whereas each member of the Miami Heat roster, including Joel Anthony, Shane Battier, Chris Bosh, Mario Chalmers, Norris Cole, Eddy Curry, Terrel Harris, Udonis Haslem, Juwan Howard, LeBron James, James Jones, Mike Miller, Dexter Pittman, Ronny Turiaf, and Dwyane Wade, played an essential role in bringing a second NBA Championship to Miami;

Whereas Erik Spoelstra and his assistant coaches Bob McAdoo, Keith Askins, Ron Rothstein, David Fizdale, Chad Kammerer, Octavio De La Grana, Bill Foran, as well as trainers Jay Sabol, Rey Jaffet, and Rob Pimental, worked with the Miami Heat players and maintained a standard of excellence;

Whereas owner Micky Arison has built a first-class sports franchise and provided unwavering commitment to bringing another championship to the city of Miami;

Whereas, over his 17 seasons with the Miami Heat, team President Pat Riley has provided the team with an unprecedented level of dedication and leadership; and

Whereas the Miami Heat brought the city of Miami, the State of Florida, and their fans around the world a second “white hot” NBA Championship: Now, therefore, be it

That the Senate—


congratulates the Miami Heat on its victory in the 2012 National Basketball Association Championship; and


requests the Secretary of the Senate to transmit for appropriate display an enrolled copy of this resolution to—


the owner of the Miami Heat, Micky Arison;


the President of the Miami Heat, Pat Riley; and


the coach of the Miami Heat, Erik Spoelstra.