skip to main content

S.Res. 598 (112th): A resolution commending and congratulating the San Francisco Giants for winning the 2012 World Series.

The text of the bill below is as of Nov 15, 2012 (Resolution Agreed to by Senate).



2d Session

S. RES. 598


November 15, 2012

(for herself and Mrs. Boxer) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to


Commending and congratulating the San Francisco Giants for winning the 2012 World Series.

Whereas the San Francisco Giants defeated the American League champions, the Detroit Tigers, 4 games to none to win the seventh World Series championship in the history of the Giants franchise, and the second World Series championship in 3 years;

Whereas the San Francisco Giants won the 2012 National League West Division title with 94 wins;

Whereas the San Francisco Giants won 6 straight elimination games in the 2012 post-season, rallying from being down two games to none to defeat the Cincinnati Reds in the National League Division Series, and from being down three games to one to defeat the defending World Series champions, the St. Louis Cardinals, for the National League championship;

Whereas the San Francisco Giants won 7 straight post-season games and allowed just 7 runs in that span;

Whereas third baseman Pablo Sandoval received the World Series Most Valuable Player award after hitting .500 during the World Series and hitting 3 home runs in Game 1, becoming just the fourth player to do so in World Series history;

Whereas all 25 players on the playoff roster should be congratulated, including Jeremy Affeldt, Joaquin Arias, Brandon Belt, Gregor Blanco, Madison Bumgarner, Matt Cain, Santiago Casilla, Brandon Crawford, Aubrey Huff, George Kontos, Tim Lincecum, Javier Lopez, Jose Mijares, Guillermo Mota, Xavier Nady, Angel Pagan, Hunter Pence, Buster Posey, Sergio Romo, Hector Sanchez, Pablo Sandoval, Marco Scutaro, Ryan Theriot, Ryan Vogelsong, and Barry Zito;

Whereas the 2012 San Francisco Giants will be remembered for overpowering starting pitching, unflappable relief pitching, steady defense, and timely hitting;

Whereas the San Francisco Giants are superbly led by President and Chief Executive Officer Larry Baer, General Manager Brian Sabean, and Manager Bruce Bochy;

Whereas San Francisco is a city with a rich baseball tradition, where players such as Willie Mays, Willie McCovey, Orlando Cepeda, Juan Marichal, Monte Irvin, and Gaylord Perry displayed exceptional skill that eventually took them to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York; and

Whereas the San Francisco Giants inspired the city of San Francisco and all Giants fans by showing unprecedented determination, resolve, and teamwork in winning the 2012 World Series: Now, therefore, be it

That the Senate commends and congratulates the San Francisco Giants for winning the 2012 World Series.