skip to main content

S.Res. 617 (112th): A resolution congratulating the recipient of the 2012 Heisman Memorial Trophy.

The text of the bill below is as of Dec 20, 2012 (Resolution Agreed to by Senate).



2d Session

S. RES. 617


December 13, 2012

(for herself and Mr. Cornyn) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

December 20, 2012

Committee discharged; considered and agreed to


Congratulating the recipient of the 2012 Heisman Memorial Trophy.

Whereas, for the 78th time, the Heisman Memorial Trophy has been awarded to the most outstanding collegiate football player in the United States;

Whereas Johnny Manziel overcame intense competition and defied expectations during Texas A&M University’s first year in the Southeastern Conference;

Whereas Manziel led the 2012 Texas A&M Aggie football team to a regular season record of 10 wins and 2 losses;

Whereas Manziel was awarded the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award as the top quarterback in the National Collegiate Athletic Association;

Whereas Manziel became the first freshman, and only the fifth player ever, in National Collegiate Athletic Association Football Bowl Subdivision history to achieve 3,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a season;

Whereas Manziel became the first player in the Football Bowl Subdivision to pass for 300 yards and rush for 100 yards in the same game 3 times in his career;

Whereas Manziel holds the freshman record for quarterback rushing yards (1,114) and total yards in a season (4,600);

Whereas Manziel was assisted by the leadership of Southeastern Conference Co-Coach of the Year Kevin Sumlin, the exceptional protection of the offensive line anchored by Outland Trophy winner Luke Joeckel, and Texas A&M’s 12th Man;

Whereas Manziel became the second Heisman Trophy winner at Texas A&M, preceded by John David Crow in 1957;

Whereas Manziel started the development of his athletic capabilities before attending Texas A&M in the cities of Tyler, Texas, and Kerrville, Texas;

Whereas 2012 marks the eighth time a player at a university in Texas has won the Heisman Trophy and back-to-back years of keeping the award in Texas;

Whereas the hullabaloo of Manziel becoming the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy is another testament to the strength and skill of Texas football; and

Whereas Manziel has combined incredible talent with hard work and a good heart: Now, therefore, be it

That the Senate congratulates the recipient of the 2012 Heisman Memorial Trophy.