skip to main content

H.R. 2523 (113th): Respect for Marriage Act

The text of the bill below is as of Jun 26, 2013 (Introduced). The bill was not enacted into law.



1st Session

H. R. 2523


June 26, 2013

(for himself, Ms. Pelosi, Mr. Hoyer, Mr. Clyburn, Mr. Conyers, Mr. Polis, Mr. Cicilline, Mr. Sean Patrick Maloney of New York, Mr. Pocan, Ms. Sinema, Mr. Takano, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Barber, Ms. Bass, Mr. Becerra, Mr. Bishop of New York, Mr. Blumenauer, Ms. Bonamici, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Mr. Braley of Iowa, Ms. Brownley of California, Mrs. Capps, Mr. Capuano, Mr. Cárdenas, Mr. Carney, Mr. Cartwright, Ms. Castor of Florida, Mr. Castro of Texas, Mrs. Christensen, Ms. Chu, Ms. Clarke, Mr. Clay, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Connolly, Mr. Courtney, Mr. Crowley, Mr. Cummings, Mr. Danny K. Davis of Illinois, Mrs. Davis of California, Mr. DeFazio, Ms. DeGette, Mr. Delaney, Ms. DeLauro, Ms. DelBene, Mr. Deutch, Mr. Dingell, Mr. Doggett, Mr. Doyle, Ms. Edwards, Mr. Ellison, Mr. Engel, Ms. Eshoo, Ms. Esty, Mr. Farr, Mr. Fattah, Mr. Foster, Ms. Fudge, Ms. Gabbard, Mr. Garamendi, Mr. Grayson, Mr. Al Green of Texas, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Gutiérrez, Ms. Hahn, Ms. Hanabusa, Mr. Hanna, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Mr. Heck of Washington, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Himes, Mr. Holt, Mr. Honda, Mr. Horsford, Mr. Huffman, Mr. Israel, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Ms. Kaptur, Mr. Keating, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Kilmer, Mrs. Kirkpatrick, Ms. Kuster, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Larsen of Washington, Mr. Larson of Connecticut, Ms. Lee of California, Mr. Levin, Mr. Lewis, Mr. Loebsack, Ms. Lofgren, Mr. Lowenthal, Mrs. Lowey, Mr. Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Maffei, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Mr. Markey, Ms. Matsui, Mrs. McCarthy of New York, Ms. McCollum, Mr. McDermott, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Meeks, Ms. Meng, Mr. Michaud, Mr. George Miller of California, Ms. Moore, Mr. Moran, Mrs. Napolitano, Mrs. Negrete McLeod, Mr. Nolan, Ms. Norton, Mr. O’Rourke, Mr. Owens, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Pascrell, Mr. Pastor of Arizona, Mr. Peters of Michigan, Ms. Pingree of Maine, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Mr. Quigley, Mr. Rangel, Ms. Ros-Lehtinen, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Rush, Mr. Ryan of Ohio, Ms. Linda T. Sánchez of California, Ms. Loretta Sanchez of California, Mr. Sarbanes, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. Schiff, Mr. Schneider, Ms. Schwartz, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Mr. Serrano, Ms. Shea-Porter, Mr. Sherman, Mr. Sires, Ms. Slaughter, Mr. Smith of Washington, Ms. Speier, Mr. Swalwell of California, Mr. Thompson of California, Mr. Tierney, Ms. Titus, Mr. Tonko, Ms. Tsongas, Mr. Van Hollen, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Veasey, Ms. Velázquez, Mr. Walz, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mr. Watt, Mr. Waxman, Mr. Welch, Ms. Wilson of Florida, and Mr. Yarmuth) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary


To repeal the Defense of Marriage Act and ensure respect for State regulation of marriage.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the Respect for Marriage Act .


Repeal of section added to title 28, United States Code, by section 2 of the Defense of Marriage Act

Section 1738C of title 28, United States Code, is repealed, and the table of sections at the beginning of chapter 115 of title 28, United States Code, is amended by striking the item relating to that section.


Marriage recognition

Section 7 of title 1, United States Code, is amended to read as follows:




For the purposes of any Federal law in which marital status is a factor, an individual shall be considered married if that individual’s marriage is valid in the State where the marriage was entered into or, in the case of a marriage entered into outside any State, if the marriage is valid in the place where entered into and the marriage could have been entered into in a State.


In this section, the term State means a State, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or any other territory or possession of the United States.