skip to main content

S.Res. 34 (113th): A resolution commemorating the 150th anniversary of Kansas State University.

The text of the bill below is as of Feb 13, 2013 (Resolution Agreed to by Senate).



1st Session

S. RES. 34


February 13, 2013

(for himself and Mr. Moran) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to


Commemorating the 150th anniversary of Kansas State University.

Whereas Kansas State University was established by the Territory of Kansas on February 9, 1858, as the Bluemont Central College Association, in response to the desire to provide higher education opportunities to farm families and working class individuals in Kansas;

Whereas on February 3, 1863, Kansas became one of the first States to accept the terms and conditions of the Act of July 2, 1862 (commonly known as the First Morrill Act ) (7 U.S.C. 301 et seq.), which created the land-grant system of colleges and universities;

Whereas Kansas State Agricultural College, which is known today as Kansas State University, received a land-grant charter on February 16, 1863, making it the first operational land-grant institution in the United States;

Whereas since the inception of Kansas State University, the university has expanded the main campus in Manhattan to include campuses in Olathe and Salina;

Whereas students attending Kansas State University hale from all 50 States and 90 countries;

Whereas more than 200,000 alumni are proud to call Kansas State University their alma mater;

Whereas the commitment of Kansas State University to education is unparalleled; and

Whereas the history and stature of Kansas State University are secured by the exceptional caliber of the educational professionals and students: Now, therefore, be it

That the Senate recognizes and congratulates Kansas State University for 150 years of fulfilling the mission of a land-grant university.