skip to main content

H.R. 1161 (114th): American Civil Rights Cities Act

The text of the bill below is as of Feb 27, 2015 (Introduced). The bill was not enacted into law.



1st Session

H. R. 1161


February 27, 2015

(for herself, Ms. Sewell of Alabama, Mr. Murphy of Florida, Mr. Hastings, Mr. Ellison, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Pocan, Mr. Cohen, Ms. Jackson Lee, Mr. Ted Lieu of California, Ms. Brown of Florida, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Ashford, Mr. Polis, Ms. Clarke of New York, Mr. Gutiérrez, Ms. Wilson of Florida, Ms. Moore, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Honda, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Ms. Brownley of California, Ms. Duckworth, and Mr. Meeks) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Natural Resources


To direct the Secretary of the Interior to designate at least one city in the United States each year as an American Civil Rights City, and for other purposes.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the American Civil Rights Cities Act.


Designation of American Civil Rights cities


Annual designations

Not later than one year after the date of the enactment of this Act, and annually thereafter, the Secretary of the Interior, acting through the National Park Service, shall designate at least one city in the United States as an American Civil Rights City based on—


contributions of the city to protect civil rights by preventing discrimination based on race, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, or disability; and


efforts by the city to highlight the struggle of the United States to secure civil rights and liberties through preservation and celebration, including the establishment of historical organizations or museums and recognition of civil rights leaders.


First American Civil Rights Cities

The city of Greensboro, North Carolina, and the city of Selma, Alabama, are each designated as an American Civil Rights City.