skip to main content

H.R. 1475 (114th): Korean War Veterans Memorial Wall of Remembrance Act

The text of the bill below is as of Feb 24, 2016 (Reported by House Committee).


Union Calendar No. 330


2d Session

H. R. 1475

[Report No. 114–433]


March 19, 2015

(for himself, Mr. Rangel, and Mr. Conyers) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Natural Resources

February 24, 2016

Additional sponsors: Mr. Coffman, Mr. Hastings, Ms. Granger, Mr. Kline, Ms. Stefanik, Mr. Connolly, Mr. Himes, Ms. Sinema, Mr. Weber of Texas, Mr. Marchant, Mr. McCaul, Mr. Conaway, Mr. Williams, Mr. Delaney, Mr. Guthrie, Mr. Smith of Texas, Mr. Hensarling, Mr. Cole, Mrs. Lawrence, Mr. Wilson of South Carolina, Mrs. Blackburn, Mr. Carter of Georgia, Mr. Loudermilk, Mr. Brady of Texas, Mr. Babin, Mr. Pittenger, Mr. Franks of Arizona, Mr. Rice of South Carolina, Mr. Duncan of South Carolina, Mr. Hultgren, Mr. Walberg, Mr. Roe of Tennessee, Mr. Neugebauer, Mr. Lamborn, Mr. Poe of Texas, Mr. Wittman, Mrs. Hartzler, Mr. Pitts, Mr. Barletta, Mr. Barton, Mr. Veasey, Mr. Carter of Texas, Mr. Goodlatte, Mr. Van Hollen, Ms. Edwards, Mr. Hinojosa, Ms. Bordallo, Mr. Gowdy, Mr. Salmon, Mr. Hurd of Texas, Ms. Kaptur, Mr. Costello of Pennsylvania, Mr. Yarmuth, Mr. Ryan of Ohio, Mr. Cartwright, Mr. Kinzinger of Illinois, Mr. Latta, Mrs. Radewagen, Mr. Whitfield, Mr. Lance, Mr. Jones, Mr. Young of Indiana, Mr. Graves of Missouri, Mr. Knight, Mr. Russell, Mr. Rush, Ms. Pingree, Mr. O'Rourke, Mr. Gutiérrez, Mr. King of New York, Mr. Deutch, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Clawson of Florida, Mr. Sensenbrenner, Mr. Meehan, Mr. Tiberi, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Mr. Cummings, Mr. Farenthold, Ms. Wilson of Florida, Mr. Bishop of Michigan, Mr. Austin Scott of Georgia, Mr. Swalwell of California, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. Thompson of Pennsylvania, Mr. Thompson of Mississippi, Mr. Ratcliffe, Mrs. Comstock, Mr. Keating, Mr. Crawford, Mr. Hanna, Mr. LaMalfa, Mr. Benishek, Mr. Mulvaney, Mr. Marino, Mr. Ross, Mr. McClintock, Mr. Wenstrup, Mr. Gibbs, Mr. Newhouse, Mr. Westerman, Mr. Abraham, Mr. Curbelo of Florida, Mr. Thornberry, Mr. Burgess, Mr. Sessions, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Mr. Cramer, Mrs. Wagner, Mr. Royce, Mr. Schweikert, Mr. Trott, Mr. Luetkemeyer, Mr. Johnson of Ohio, Mr. Israel, Mr. Stivers, Ms. McSally, Ms. Norton, Mr. Gibson, Ms. Kuster, Mr. Valadao, Mr. Peterson, Mr. Kind, Mr. LoBiondo, Mr. Young of Alaska, Mr. Peters, Mr. Olson, Mrs. Lowey, Mr. Gene Green of Texas, Mr. Rothfus, Ms. Gabbard, Mr. Jolly, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Pierluisi, Mr. Posey, Mr. Zinke, Ms. Plaskett, Mr. Rigell, Mr. Carney, Ms. Esty, Mr. Ashford, Mr. Messer, Mr. Reed, Mr. MacArthur, Mr. Sanford, Mr. Garamendi, Ms. Ros-Lehtinen, Mr. Lewis, Mr. Larson of Connecticut, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Carson of Indiana, Mr. Fortenberry, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Mrs. Kirkpatrick, Mr. Smith of New Jersey, Mr. Pocan, Mr. Donovan, Mr. Forbes, Mr. McDermott, Mr. Takai, Mr. Langevin, Mrs. Watson Coleman, Mr. Joyce, Mrs. Lummis, Mr. Tipton, Mrs. Miller of Michigan, Mr. Kennedy, Mrs. Dingell, Mr. Lowenthal, Mr. Nugent, Mr. Butterfield, Mr. DesJarlais, Mr. Barr, Mr. Sean Patrick Maloney of New York, Mr. Yoder, Mrs. Napolitano, Mr. Takano, Mr. Heck of Nevada, Mr. Young of Iowa, Mr. Kilmer, Mr. Jordan, Mr. Huelskamp, Ms. Duckworth, Mr. Farr, Mr. Beyer, Ms. Jenkins of Kansas, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Sires, Mr. Cárdenas, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Lucas, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Ribble, Mr. Griffith, Mr. Ted Lieu of California, Mr. Denham, Mr. Miller of Florida, Mr. Lipinski, Mr. Hill, Mr. Bost, Mr. McKinley, Mr. Castro of Texas, Mr. Guinta, Mr. Perlmutter, Mr. Mullin, Mr. Meeks, Miss Rice of New York, Mr. Thompson of California, Mr. Welch, Mr. Smith of Missouri, Mr. Pascrell, Mr. Pompeo, Mr. Loebsack, Mr. Tom Price of Georgia, Mr. Moulton, Mr. Poliquin, Mr. Labrador, Mr. Cook, Mr. Norcross, Mr. Kelly of Mississippi, Mr. Brat, Mr. Rodney Davis of Illinois, Mr. Collins of New York, Mr. Katko, Mr. Mooney of West Virginia, Mrs. Black, Mr. Courtney, Mr. Graves of Louisiana, Ms. Frankel of Florida, Mr. Paulsen, Mr. Chabot, Mr. Polis, Mr. Frelinghuysen, Mr. Jenkins of West Virginia, Mr. Fitzpatrick, Mr. Mica, Ms. Jackson Lee, Ms. Brown of Florida, Mr. Bilirakis, Mr. King of Iowa, Mr. Gallego, Ms. Meng, Ms. Clarke of New York, Mr. Fattah, Mr. Rohrabacher, Ms. Brownley of California, Mr. Grayson, Ms. Judy Chu of California, Mr. Fleming, Ms. Eshoo, Mr. Schiff, Ms. Moore, Mr. Tonko, Mr. Jeffries, Ms. DeLauro, Ms. Loretta Sanchez of California, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mr. Meadows, Mr. Gohmert, Mr. Stutzman, Mr. Westmoreland, Mr. Crenshaw, Mr. Womack, Mr. Rooney of Florida, Mr. Fincher, Mr. DeFazio, Mr. Calvert, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Neal, Mrs. Capps, Mr. Smith of Nebraska, Ms. Lee, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Mr. Costa, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Ms. Lofgren, Mr. Yoho, Mr. Bishop of Georgia, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Reichert, Mrs. Roby, Mr. Serrano, Mr. Becerra, Mr. Quigley, Mr. Nolan, Ms. Matsui, Mr. Roskam, Mr. Higgins, Ms. Sewell of Alabama, Mrs. Noem, Mr. Turner, Mr. LaHood, Ms. Velázquez, Mrs. Bustos, Mr. Kelly of Pennsylvania, Mr. Rogers of Kentucky, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Zeldin, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Hurt of Virginia, Mr. Buchanan, Mrs. Walorski, and Mr. Ruiz

February 24, 2016

Reported with an amendment, committed to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union, and ordered to be printed

Strike out all after the enacting clause and insert the part printed in italic

For text of introduced bill, see copy of bill as introduced on March 19, 2015


To authorize a Wall of Remembrance as part of the Korean War Veterans Memorial and to allow certain private contributions to fund that Wall of Remembrance.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the Korean War Veterans Memorial Wall of Remembrance Act of 2016.


Wall of Remembrance

Section 1 of the Act titled An Act to authorize the erection of a memorial on Federal Land in the District of Columbia and its environs to honor members of the Armed Forces of the United States who served in the Korean War, approved October 25, 1986 (Public Law 99–572), is amended by adding at the end the following:

Such memorial shall include a Wall of Remembrance, which shall be constructed without the use of Federal funds. The American Battle Monuments Commission shall request and consider design recommendations from the Korean War Veterans Memorial Foundation, Inc. for the establishment of the Wall of Remembrance. The Wall of Remembrance shall include—


a list by name of members of the Armed Forces of the United States who died in theatre in the Korean War;


the number of members of the Armed Forces of the United States who, in regards to the Korean War—


were wounded in action;


are listed as missing in action; or


were prisoners of war; and


the number of members of the Korean Augmentation to the United States Army, the Republic of Korea Armed Forces, and the other nations of the United Nations Command who, in regards to the Korean War—


were killed in action;


were wounded in action;


are listed as missing in action; or


were prisoners of war.


February 24, 2016

Reported with an amendment, committed to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union, and ordered to be printed