skip to main content

H.R. 160 (114th): Protect Medical Innovation Act of 2015

The text of the bill below is as of Jun 11, 2015 (Reported by House Committee).

Summary of this bill

The Protect Medical Innovation Act would repeal the tax on medical devices created by the Affordable Care Act (ACA). The medical device excise tax is payed by medical manufacturers. The revenue generated from the tax is used to fund the ACA. Bill sponsor Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN3) issued a press release on the bill, in which he criticized the tax for making production more difficult for medical manufacturers. Proponents of the bill have argued since the ACA has caused an increased demand for health insurance, it has also caused an increased demand for medical devices, which benefits manufacturers enough to offset the tax. The bill has 241 Republican and 41 …


Union Calendar No. 105


1st Session

H. R. 160

[Report No. 114–147]


January 6, 2015

(for himself, Mr. Kind, Mr. Stutzman, Mr. Costello of Pennsylvania, Mr. Brady of Texas, Mrs. Blackburn, Mr. Young of Indiana, Ms. Jenkins of Kansas, Mr. Lance, Mr. Sensenbrenner, Mr. Roe of Tennessee, Mr. Weber of Texas, Mr. Schweikert, Mr. Womack, Mr. Chaffetz, Mr. DesJarlais, Mr. Guthrie, Mr. Farenthold, Mr. Chabot, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Bucshon, Mrs. Noem, Mr. Smith of New Jersey, Mr. Shimkus, Mr. Kelly of Pennsylvania, Mr. Burgess, Mr. Diaz-Balart, Mr. Harper, Mrs. Walorski, Mr. Barr, Mr. Tiberi, Mrs. Wagner, Mr. Heck of Nevada, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Mr. Collins of New York, Mr. Dent, Mrs. Brooks of Indiana, Mr. Aderholt, Mr. Barletta, Mr. Barton, Mr. Benishek, Mr. Bilirakis, Mrs. Black, Mr. Boustany, Mr. Brooks of Alabama, Mr. Buchanan, Mr. Calvert, Mr. Coffman, Mr. Cole, Mr. Conaway, Mr. Cook, Mr. Cramer, Mr. Crawford, Mr. Crenshaw, Mr. Culberson, Mr. Rodney Davis of Illinois, Mr. Denham, Mr. DeSantis, Mr. Duffy, Mr. Duncan of South Carolina, Mr. Duncan of Tennessee, Mr. Ellison, Mr. Fincher, Mr. Rice of South Carolina, Mr. Palazzo, Ms. DelBene, Mrs. McMorris Rodgers, Mr. Rokita, Mrs. Bustos, Mr. Graves of Georgia, Mr. Guinta, Mr. McCaul, Mr. Rohrabacher, Mrs. Miller of Michigan, Mr. Huelskamp, Mr. Joyce, Mr. Amodei, Mr. Collins of Georgia, Mrs. Ellmers, Mr. Fitzpatrick, Mr. Flores, Ms. Foxx, Mr. Frelinghuysen, Mr. Gibson, Mr. Goodlatte, Mr. Gosar, Mr. Graves of Missouri, Mr. Holding, Mr. Hudson, Mr. Huizenga of Michigan, Mr. Hultgren, Mr. Hurt of Virginia, Mr. Issa, Mr. Jolly, Mr. Jones, Mr. Jordan, Mr. King of New York, Mr. King of Iowa, Mr. Lamborn, Mr. Long, Mr. Massie, Mr. McHenry, Mr. Meehan, Mr. Messer, Mr. Mullin, Mr. Olson, Mr. Perry, Mr. Reed, Mr. Reichert, Mr. Ribble, Mr. Rothfus, Mr. Peterson, Mr. Webster of Florida, Mr. Gibbs, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Brat, Mr. Bridenstine, Mr. Clawson of Florida, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Fleischmann, Mr. Fleming, Mr. Fortenberry, Mr. Franks of Arizona, Mr. Garrett, Ms. Granger, Mr. Hanna, Mr. Harris, Mrs. Hartzler, Mr. Hensarling, Ms. Herrera Beutler, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Sam Johnson of Texas, Mr. Kinzinger of Illinois, Mr. Kline, Mr. Labrador, Mr. LaMalfa, Mr. Latta, Mr. Lucas, Mr. Luetkemeyer, Mrs. Lummis, Mr. Marchant, Mr. Marino, Mr. McClintock, Mr. McKinley, Mr. Meadows, Mr. Neugebauer, Mr. Nunes, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Pitts, Mr. Poe of Texas, Mr. Pompeo, Mr. Posey, Mr. Renacci, Mr. Rogers of Kentucky, Mr. Rooney of Florida, Mr. Roskam, Mr. Ross, Mr. Royce, Mr. Salmon, Mr. Scalise, Mr. Schock, Ms. Sinema, Mr. Smith of Missouri, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Stivers, Mr. Thompson of Pennsylvania, Mr. Thornberry, Mr. Tipton, Mr. Turner, Mr. Upton, Mr. Valadao, Mr. Walberg, Mr. Walden, Mr. Wenstrup, Mr. Westmoreland, Mr. Williams, Mr. Wilson of South Carolina, Mr. Wittman, Mr. Woodall, Mr. Yoder, Mr. Pittenger, Mr. Forbes, Mr. Griffith, Mr. Johnson of Ohio, Mr. Lipinski, Mr. Murphy of Pennsylvania, Mr. Rigell, Mrs. Roby, Mr. Rogers of Alabama, Ms. Ros-Lehtinen, Mr. Sanford, Mr. Sessions, Mr. Shuster, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Smith of Texas, Mr. Walz, Mr. Gowdy, Mr. Price of Georgia, Mr. Nugent, Mr. Smith of Nebraska, Mr. Yoho, Mr. Loebsack, Mr. LoBiondo, Mr. Mica, Mr. Miller of Florida, Mr. Amash, Mr. Mulvaney, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Kilmer, Mr. Emmer, Mr. Katko, Mr. Murphy of Florida, Mr. Ratcliffe, Mr. Westerman, Mr. Dold, Mrs. Mimi Walters of California, Ms. Brownley of California, Mr. Knight, Ms. Stefanik, Mrs. Comstock, Mr. MacArthur, Mr. Bost, Mr. Peters, Mr. Bishop of Utah, Mr. Hurd of Texas, Mr. Rouzer, Mr. Mooney of West Virginia, Mr. Carter of Georgia, Mr. Zeldin, Mr. Hill, Mr. Curbelo of Florida, Mr. Ashford, Mr. Babin, Mr. Whitfield, Mr. Hice of Georgia, Mr. Allen, Mr. Bera, Ms. Graham, Mr. Moolenaar, Mrs. Love, Mr. Buck, Mr. Poliquin, Mr. Trott, Mr. Blum, Ms. Sewell of Alabama, Mr. Keating, Mr. Young of Iowa, Mrs. Davis of California, and Ms. Kuster) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Ways and Means

June 11, 2015

Additional sponsors: Mr. Newhouse, Mr. Grothman, Mr. Walker, Mr. Higgins, Mr. Tonko, Ms. Speier, Mrs. Kirkpatrick, Mr. Nolan, Mr. Zinke, Mr. Bishop of Michigan, Mr. Nunnelee, Mr. Carter of Texas, Mr. Young of Alaska, Mr. Loudermilk, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Cárdenas, Mr. Russell, Mr. Jenkins of West Virginia, Mr. Hardy, Mr. Palmer, Mr. Austin Scott of Georgia, Ms. McSally, Mr. Aguilar, Mr. Abraham, Mr. Sean Patrick Maloney of New York, Mr. David Scott of Georgia, Mr. Ruiz, Mr. Moulton, Mr. Graves of Louisiana, Mrs. Torres, Mr. Brendan F. Boyle of Pennsylvania, Mr. Swalwell of California, Mr. Capuano, and Mr. Norcross

June 11, 2015

Reported with an amendment, committed to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union, and ordered to be printed

Strike out all after the enacting clause and insert the part printed in italic

For text of introduced bill, see copy of bill as introduced on January 6, 2015


To amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to repeal the excise tax on medical devices.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the Protect Medical Innovation Act of 2015.


Repeal of medical device excise tax


In general

Chapter 32 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 is amended by striking subchapter E.


Conforming amendments


Subsection (a) of section 4221 of such Code is amended by striking the last sentence.


Paragraph (2) of section 6416(b) of such Code is amended by striking the last sentence.


Clerical amendment

The table of subchapters for chapter 32 of such Code is amended by striking the item relating to subchapter E.


Effective date

The amendments made by this section shall apply to sales in calendar quarters beginning after the date of the enactment of this Act.

June 11, 2015

Reported with an amendment, committed to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union, and ordered to be printed