skip to main content

S. 1004 (114th): Veterans Day Moment of Silence Act

The text of the bill below is as of Sep 30, 2016 (Passed Congress).


One Hundred Fourteenth Congress of the United States of America

2d Session

S. 1004

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

AN ACT

To amend title 36, United States Code, to encourage the nationwide observance of two minutes of silence each Veterans Day.

1.

Short title

This Act may be cited as the Veterans Day Moment of Silence Act.

2.

Observance of Veterans Day

(a)

Two minutes of silence

Chapter 1 of title 36, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following new section:

145.

Veterans Day

The President shall issue each year a proclamation calling on the people of the United States to observe two minutes of silence on Veterans Day in honor of the service and sacrifice of veterans throughout the history of the Nation, beginning at—

(1)

3:11 p.m. Atlantic standard time;

(2)

2:11 p.m. eastern standard time;

(3)

1:11 p.m. central standard time;

(4)

12:11 p.m. mountain standard time;

(5)

11:11 a.m. Pacific standard time;

(6)

10:11 a.m. Alaska standard time; and

(7)

9:11 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian standard time.

.

(b)

Clerical amendment

The table of sections for chapter 1 of title 36, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following new item:

145. Veterans Day.

.

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Vice President of the United States and President of the Senate