skip to main content

H.R. 184 (115th): Protect Medical Innovation Act of 2018

The text of the bill below is as of Jan 3, 2017 (Introduced).

Summary of this bill

Should medical devices be taxed to help pay for Obamacare?


The Affordable Care Act, more commonly known as Obamacare, imposed a 2.3% tax on imported medical devices. (There were a few exceptions, such as for devices directly available for purchase by consumers.)

The medical device industry, which opposed the tax, claims to account for more than half a million American jobs and $150 million to the economy. The IRS reported that about a quarter of the intended revenue from the tax was going uncollected.

Once Republicans took over both chambers of Congress in 2015, the tax was temporarily suspended for the two years of 2016–17. President Obama ...



1st Session

H. R. 184


January 3, 2017

(for himself, Mr. Kind, Mr. Poliquin, Ms. Foxx, Ms. Sinema, Mr. Jones, Mr. Kelly of Pennsylvania, Mr. Harper, Mr. Messer, Mrs. Walorski, Mr. Joyce of Ohio, Mr. Costello of Pennsylvania, Mr. Brooks of Alabama, Mrs. Mimi Walters of California, Mr. Lance, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Carter of Texas, Mr. Reed, Mr. Hill, Mr. Turner, Mr. Denham, Mrs. Brooks of Indiana, Mr. Stivers, Mr. Rokita, Mr. Royce of California, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Westerman, Mrs. Blackburn, Mr. McCaul, Mr. MacArthur, Mr. LoBiondo, Mr. Knight, Mr. Webster of Florida, Mrs. Noem, Mr. Smith of Missouri, Mr. King of Iowa, Mr. Peterson, Ms. Ros-Lehtinen, Ms. Jenkins of Kansas, Mr. Valadao, Mr. Sensenbrenner, Mr. Kinzinger, Mr. Holding, Mr. Comer, Mr. Johnson of Ohio, Mr. Burgess, Mr. Wittman, Mr. LaHood, Mr. Long, Mr. Lucas, Mr. Olson, Mr. Barton, Mr. Duffy, Mr. Rodney Davis of Illinois, Mr. Bishop of Utah, Mr. Conaway, Mr. LaMalfa, Mr. Gibbs, Mr. Sam Johnson of Texas, Mr. Hudson, Mr. Yoho, Mr. Upton, Mr. Marino, Mr. Barletta, Mr. Palazzo, Mr. Rogers of Alabama, Mr. Bilirakis, Mr. Jody B. Hice of Georgia, Mr. Bishop of Michigan, Mr. Cole, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Wilson of South Carolina, Mr. Buck, Mr. Meadows, Mr. Newhouse, Mr. Wenstrup, Mr. Woodall, Mr. Bucshon, Mr. Ratcliffe, Mr. Williams, Mr. Palmer, Mr. Ross, Mr. Carter of Georgia, Mr. McHenry, Mr. Walker, Mr. Womack, Mr. Coffman, Mr. DesJarlais, Mr. Thompson of Pennsylvania, Mr. Roe of Tennessee, Mr. Pittenger, Mr. Trott, Mr. Walberg, Mr. Flores, Mr. Graves of Georgia, Mr. Moolenaar, Mr. Rice of South Carolina, Mr. Meehan, Mrs. Wagner, Mr. Young of Alaska, Mr. Young of Iowa, Mr. Duncan of South Carolina, Mr. Moulton, Ms. McSally, Mr. Aderholt, Mr. Grothman, Mr. Babin, Mr. Blum, Mr. Brat, Mr. Gosar, Mr. Griffith, Mr. Goodlatte, Mr. Loudermilk, Mr. Huizenga, Mr. Russell, Mr. Fleischmann, Mr. Mooney of West Virginia, Mr. Guthrie, Mr. Thornberry, Mr. Tipton, Mr. McKinley, Mr. Barr, Mr. Collins of Georgia, Mr. Fortenberry, Mr. Rothfus, Mr. Jenkins of West Virginia, Mrs. Hartzler, Mr. Bost, Mr. Rogers of Kentucky, Mr. Hultgren, Mr. Amodei, Ms. Stefanik, Mr. Perry, Mr. Lamborn, Mr. Shuster, Mr. Banks of Indiana, Mr. Hensarling, Mr. Abraham, Mr. Shimkus, Mr. Donovan, Mr. Smith of New Jersey, Mr. Roskam, Mr. Crawford, Mr. Culberson, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Chabot, Mr. Cramer, Mr. Duncan of Tennessee, Mr. Rohrabacher, Mr. Sanford, Mr. Farenthold, Mr. Katko, Mr. Tiberi, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Walden, Mr. Dent, Ms. Beutler, Mr. DeSantis, Mr. Massie, Mr. Gowdy, Mr. Frelinghuysen, Mr. Hunter, Mr. Graves of Louisiana, Mr. Posey, Mr. Luetkemeyer, Mr. Smith of Texas, Mr. Hurd, Mr. Yoder, Mrs. Black, Mr. Nunes, Mr. Thomas J. Rooney of Florida, Mrs. Love, Mr. Cook, Mrs. McMorris Rodgers, Mr. Khanna, Mr. Lynch, Ms. Speier, Mr. Diaz-Balart, Mr. Peters, Mr. Weber of Texas, Mr. Correa, Mr. Rouzer, Mr. Collins of New York, Mr. Issa, Mr. Emmer, Mr. Buchanan, Mr. Marchant, Mr. Reichert, Mr. Renacci, Ms. Brownley of California, Mr. Swalwell of California, Mr. Mullin, Mrs. Comstock, Mr. Graves of Missouri, Ms. Kuster of New Hampshire, Mr. Austin Scott of Georgia, Mr. Labrador, Mr. Curbelo of Florida, Mr. Norcross, Mr. Allen, Mr. Latta, Mr. Bera, Mr. Murphy of Pennsylvania, Mr. Bridenstine, Mr. Kustoff of Tennessee, Mr. Byrne, Mr. Hollingsworth, Mr. Poe of Texas, Mr. Calvert, Mr. Franks of Arizona, Mr. King of New York, Mr. Sessions, Mr. Walz, Mr. Fitzpatrick, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Mr. Schweikert, Mr. McClintock, Mr. Nolan, Mrs. Bustos, Ms. Granger, Mr. Kilmer, Mr. Aguilar, Mr. Chaffetz, and Mr. Faso) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Ways and Means


To amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to repeal the excise tax on medical devices.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the Protect Medical Innovation Act of 2017.


Repeal of medical device excise tax


In general

Chapter 32 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 is amended by striking subchapter E.


Conforming amendments


Subsection (a) of section 4221 of such Code is amended by striking the last sentence.


Paragraph (2) of section 6416(b) of such Code is amended by striking the last sentence.


Clerical amendment

The table of subchapters for chapter 32 of such Code is amended by striking the item relating to subchapter E.


Effective date

The amendments made by this section shall apply to sales after December 31, 2017.