skip to main content

H.R. 4827 (115th): Federal Employee Retroactive Pay Fairness Act

The text of the bill below is as of Jan 18, 2018 (Introduced). The bill was not enacted into law.



2d Session

H. R. 4827


January 18, 2018

(for himself, Mr. Wittman, Mr. Garamendi, Mr. Serrano, Mr. DeSaulnier, Mr. Pocan, Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania, Ms. Norton, Mrs. Comstock, Mr. Kilmer, Ms. Barragán, Mr. Perlmutter, Ms. Shea-Porter, Mr. Connolly, Mr. Cicilline, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Mr. Cummings, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Ms. Meng, Mr. Lowenthal, Ms. Pingree, Mr. Takano, Mr. Brown of Maryland, Mr. Hoyer, Mr. Raskin, Mr. Delaney, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Sarbanes, Mr. Meeks, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Ms. DeLauro, Mr. Payne, Mr. Veasey, Mr. Blumenauer, Ms. Kuster of New Hampshire, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Mr. Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico, Mr. Cole, and Ms. Clarke of New York) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform


To provide for the compensation of Federal employees furloughed during a Government shutdown.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the Federal Employee Retroactive Pay Fairness Act.


Compensation for Federal employees furloughed during a Government shutdown

Federal employees furloughed as a result of any lapse in appropriations that begins on or about January 19, 2018, shall be compensated at their standard rate of compensation, for the period of such lapse in appropriations, as soon as practicable after such lapse in appropriations ends.