skip to main content

H.R. 648: Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2019

This was a House Democrat bill to reopen most of the federal government through September 30, 2019, with funding for most or all of the federal agencies that had been shut down except for the Department of Homeland Security. The bill was written using text from bills previously negotiated during the Republican-controlled 115th Congress, with adjustments from House Democrats. It would not have included funding for a southern border wall.

House Democrats issued a press release on passage of H.R. 648. The release explains the rationale for the bill and some of the adjustments made.

On December 22, 2018 the 115th Congress was unable to reach a deal to fund some federal agencies through fiscal year 2019 after President Trump demanded $5 billion in funding for a southern border wall. The Senate had unanimously passed a bill to fund the government through 2019, without the border wall, the then Republican-controlled House amended the bill adding $5 billion in funding for a southern border wall. The Senate neglected to vote on that bill leaving it to die in the previous Congress. When funding lapsed for the USDA, FDA, and Departments of Commerce, Justice, Homeland Security, Interior, Environment, State, Transportation, and Housing and Urban Development, the partial government shutdown began. When the 116th Congress began in 2019, Democrats took control of the House. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi made it clear that the House does not plan to approve funding for the border wall in any future appropriations bills. As of January 24, House Democrats have passed ten different bills that would completely or partially reopen the federal government. Only H.R. 268 has been considered by the Senate, where Republican and Democratic amendments to the bill both failed.

Last updated Jan 25, 2019. View all GovTrack summaries.

The summary below was written by the Congressional Research Service, which is a nonpartisan division of the Library of Congress, and was published on Jan 23, 2019.

Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2019

This bill provides FY2019 appropriations for several federal departments and agencies. It includes 6 of the 12 regular FY2019 appropriations bills:

the Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2019; the Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2019; the Financial Services and General Government Appropriations Act, 2019; the Department of the Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2019; the Department of State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Appropriations Act, 2019; and the Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2019. The departments and agencies funded in the bill include

the Department of Agriculture; the Food and Drug Administration; the Department of Commerce; the Department of Justice; science-related agencies, including the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA); the Department of the Treasury, the judiciary; the Executive Office of the President; the District of Columbia; the Department of the Interior; the Environmental Protection Agency; the Forest Service; the Department of State; the Department of Transportation; the Department of Housing and Urban Development; and several related and independent agencies. The bill also extends several authorities and programs, including

the National Flood Insurance Program, the authority for the Environmental Protection Agency to collect and spend certain fees related to pesticides, the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, and several Medicaid provisions.