skip to main content

H.J.Res. 17 (117th): Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.

The text of the resolution below is as of Jan 21, 2021 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. J. RES. 17


January 21, 2021

(for herself, Mr. Reed, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Ms. Adams, Mr. Aguilar, Mr. Auchincloss, Mrs. Axne, Ms. Barragán, Ms. Bass, Mrs. Beatty, Mr. Bera, Mr. Beyer, Mr. Bishop of Georgia, Mr. Blumenauer, Ms. Blunt Rochester, Ms. Bonamici, Mr. Brendan F. Boyle of Pennsylvania, Mr. Brown, Ms. Brownley, Mrs. Bustos, Mr. Carbajal, Mr. Cárdenas, Mr. Carson, Mr. Case, Mr. Casten, Ms. Castor of Florida, Ms. Chu, Mr. Cicilline, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Ms. Clarke of New York, Mr. Connolly, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Costa, Mr. Crist, Mr. Crow, Mr. Danny K. Davis of Illinois, Ms. Dean, Mr. DeFazio, Ms. DeGette, Ms. DeLauro, Ms. DelBene, Mr. Delgado, Mrs. Demings, Mr. DeSaulnier, Mr. Deutch, Mrs. Dingell, Mr. Michael F. Doyle of Pennsylvania, Ms. Escobar, Ms. Eshoo, Mr. Espaillat, Mr. Evans, Mr. Foster, Ms. Lois Frankel of Florida, Mr. Gallego, Mr. Garamendi, Ms. Garcia of Texas, Mr. García of Illinois, Mr. Gomez, Mr. Gottheimer, Mr. Green of Texas, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Hastings, Mrs. Hayes, Mr. Himes, Mr. Horsford, Ms. Houlahan, Mr. Huffman, Ms. Omar, Ms. Jayapal, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Mr. Jones, Ms. Kaptur, Mr. Keating, Ms. Kelly of Illinois, Mr. Khanna, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Kilmer, Mr. Kim of New Jersey, Mr. Kind, Mrs. Kirkpatrick, Mr. Krishnamoorthi, Ms. Kuster, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Larsen of Washington, Mr. Larson of Connecticut, Mrs. Lawrence, Mr. Lawson of Florida, Ms. Lee of California, Mrs. Lee of Nevada, Ms. Leger Fernandez, Mr. Levin of Michigan, Mr. Levin of California, Mr. Lieu, Mr. Lowenthal, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Malinowski, Mr. Sean Patrick Maloney of New York, Mrs. Luria, Ms. Manning, Ms. Matsui, Mrs. McBath, Ms. McCollum, Mr. McEachin, Mr. McGovern, Mr. McNerney, Mr. Meeks, Ms. Meng, Ms. Moore of Wisconsin, Mr. Morelle, Mr. Moulton, Mrs. Napolitano, Mr. Neguse, Ms. Newman, Mr. Norcross, Ms. Norton, Mr. O'Halleran, Ms. Ocasio-Cortez, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Panetta, Mr. Pappas, Mr. Payne, Mr. Perlmutter, Mr. Peters, Ms. Pingree, Ms. Plaskett, Mr. Pocan, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Mr. Quigley, Mr. Raskin, Miss Rice of New York, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Ruiz, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. Rush, Ms. Sánchez, Mr. Sarbanes, Ms. Scanlon, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. Schiff, Mr. Schrader, Ms. Schrier, Mr. David Scott of Georgia, Ms. Sewell, Mr. Sherman, Mr. Sires, Ms. Slotkin, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Soto, Mr. Stanton, Ms. Stevens, Ms. Strickland, Mr. Suozzi, Mr. Swalwell, Mr. Takano, Mr. Thompson of California, Mr. Thompson of Mississippi, Ms. Titus, Ms. Tlaib, Mr. Tonko, Mrs. Torres of California, Mr. Torres of New York, Mrs. Trahan, Mr. Trone, Ms. Underwood, Mr. Vela, Ms. Velázquez, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mrs. Watson Coleman, Mr. Welch, Ms. Wexton, Ms. Wild, Ms. Williams of Georgia, Mr. Yarmuth, Ms. Jacobs of California, Ms. Pressley, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Ryan, Mr. Pascrell, Ms. Craig, Mr. Cuellar, Mr. Correa, Ms. Bourdeaux, Mr. Schneider, Ms. Ross, Mr. Cartwright, Ms. Spanberger, Ms. Bush, Mr. Castro of Texas, Ms. Sherrill, Mr. Phillips, Ms. Porter, Mr. Jeffries, Mr. Allred, Mr. Bowman, Mrs. Murphy of Florida, and Ms. Waters) submitted the following joint resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary


Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.

That notwithstanding any time limit contained in House Joint Resolution 208, 92d Congress, as agreed to in the Senate on March 22, 1972, the article of amendment proposed to the States in that joint resolution shall be valid to all intents and purposes as part of the United States Constitution whenever ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States.