skip to main content

H.R. 3795: STEM Educator Awards Equity Act

The text of the bill below is as of Jun 8, 2021 (Introduced).



1st Session

H. R. 3795


June 8, 2021

(for himself, Mrs. Radewagen, and Mr. San Nicolas) introduced the following bill; which was referred to the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology


To amend the National Science Foundation Authorization Act of 1988 to direct the award of Presidential awards for excellence in teaching of mathematics and science to more teachers from the territories, and for other purposes.


Short title

This Act may be cited as the STEM Educator Awards Equity Act.


Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching


In general

Section 117(a) of the National Science Foundation Authorization Act of 1988 (42 U.S.C. 1881b(a)) is amended—


in subparagraph (B)—


by striking 108 and inserting 110;


by striking clause (iv);


in clause (v), by striking the period at the end and inserting ; and;


by redesignating clauses (i), (ii), (iii), and (v) as subclauses (I), (II), (III), and (IV), respectively, and moving the margins of such subclauses (as so redesignated) two ems to the right; and


by striking In selecting teachers and all that follows through two teachers— and inserting the following:


In selecting teachers for an award authorized by this subsection, the President shall select—


at least two teachers—

; and


in subparagraph (C), as designated by paragraph (1)(D), by adding at the end the following:


at least one teacher—


from the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands;


from American Samoa;


from the Virgin Islands of the United States; and


from Guam.



Effective date

The amendments made by subsection (a) shall apply with respect to awards made on or after the date of the enactment of this Act.