skip to main content

H.Res. 1005: Honoring the life and legacy of the late Congressman Don Young of Alaska.

The text of the resolution below is as of Mar 28, 2022 (Introduced).



2d Session

H. RES. 1005


March 28, 2022

(for himself, Mr. Johnson of Louisiana, Mr. Dunn, Mr. Gosar, Mr. Hern, Mr. Rouzer, Mr. Crawford, Mr. Tony Gonzales of Texas, Mr. Joyce of Ohio, Mr. Davidson, Mr. Turner, Mrs. Hinson, Mr. Hudson, Mr. Rogers of Alabama, Mr. Valadao, Mr. Weber of Texas, Mr. Newhouse, Miss González-Colón, Mr. Garbarino, Mr. Timmons, Mr. McKinley, Mr. Loudermilk, Mr. Duncan, Ms. Herrell, Mr. Ferguson, Mr. Banks, Mr. Gibbs, Mr. Mast, Mr. Issa, Mr. Ellzey, Mr. Walberg, Mr. Kelly of Pennsylvania, Ms. Salazar, Mr. Carl, Ms. Letlow, Mr. Carter of Georgia, Mrs. Miller of West Virginia, Ms. Malliotakis, Mr. Lucas, Mr. Van Drew, Mr. Moore of Alabama, Mr. Fleischmann, Mr. Guthrie, Mr. Emmer, Mr. Carey, Mr. Feenstra, Mr. Owens, Ms. Tenney, Mr. McClintock, Mr. Johnson of Ohio, Mr. Cawthorn, Mr. Gohmert, Mr. Palazzo, Mr. LaMalfa, Mrs. Fischbach, Mr. Sessions, Mr. Armstrong, Mr. LaHood, Mr. Carter of Texas, Mr. Graves of Louisiana, Mr. Kelly of Mississippi, Mr. Barr, Mr. Luetkemeyer, Mr. Rodney Davis of Illinois, Mr. Fulcher, Mr. C. Scott Franklin of Florida, Mr. Keller, Mr. Nehls, Mr. Gooden of Texas, Mrs. Miller-Meeks, Mr. Obernolte, Mr. Joyce of Pennsylvania, Mr. Balderson, Mr. Smith of Nebraska, Mr. Rutherford, Mr. Reschenthaler, Mr. Gimenez, Mr. Moolenaar, Mr. Allen, Mr. Jackson, Mr. Aderholt, Mr. Brady, Mr. Huizenga, Mr. Rosendale, Ms. Stefanik, Mr. Thompson of Pennsylvania, Mr. Johnson of South Dakota, Mr. McHenry, Mr. Baird, Mr. Calvert, Mr. Chabot, Mr. McCaul, Mr. Donalds, Mrs. Lesko, Mr. Amodei, Ms. Cheney, Mr. Stauber, Mr. DesJarlais, Mrs. Steel, Mr. Biggs, Mr. Pfluger, Mr. Guest, Ms. Van Duyne, Mr. Meijer, Mr. Graves of Missouri, Mr. Smith of Missouri, Mr. Latta, Mr. Austin Scott of Georgia, Ms. Granger, Mr. Mooney, Mr. Buchanan, Mr. Fitzgerald, Mr. Wilson of South Carolina, Mr. Bilirakis, Mrs. Kim of California, Mr. Long, Mr. Palmer, Mr. Perry, Mr. Steube, Mr. Hill, Mr. Kustoff, Mrs. Harshbarger, Mrs. Bice of Oklahoma, Mrs. Spartz, Mr. Waltz, Mr. Burgess, Mr. Jordan, and Mr. Bentz) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on House Administration


Honoring the life and legacy of the late Congressman Don Young of Alaska.

Whereas Congressman Don Young of Alaska served in public service since being first elected as mayor of his hometown, Fort Yukon, Alaska, in 1964;

Whereas Congressman Don Young was recognized as the longest serving Member of the House of Representatives of the Republican Party and was known as the Dean of the House;

Whereas Congressman Don Young was also known as the Congressman for All Alaska;

Whereas Congressman Don Young served in the United States Army in the 41st Tank Battalion;

Whereas Congressman Don Young, representing a State known for its natural beauty, wildlife, ecology, and environment, pushed back against Federal control of Alaskan lands, established a 200-mile fishing limit to support the State’s fishing industry, and helped pass the National Wildlife Refuge System Improvement Act of 1997, which set guidelines for wildlife refuges;

Whereas, as a freshman in Congress, Congressman Don Young fought for the Trans-Alaska Pipeline, which now carries 1.8 million barrels of oil per day, saying that the pipeline was one of his most significant achievements as a Representative;

Whereas Congressman Don Young was named Freshman Congressman of the Year in 1973;

Whereas Congressman Don Young served as Chairman of the Committee on Natural Resources from 1995 to 2001, was appointed Chairman of the Subcommittee on Indian, Insular, and Alaska Native Affairs (IIANA) in the 112th Congress, which he maintained until January 2017, and was later designated Chairman Emeritus of the whole Committee on Natural Resources after serving as Chairman of the IIANA Subcommittee;

Whereas Congressman Don Young served as Chairman of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure from 2001 to 2007;

Whereas Congressman Don Young served in Congress for 25 terms, and has worked with ten Presidents, nine Speakers, and thousands of Members of Congress;

Whereas Congressman Don Young managed to secure billions of dollars for projects that benefitted the State of Alaska;

Whereas Congressman Don Young used his powerful leadership positions on the Committee on Natural Resources and on the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure to fund highways, bridges, pipelines, and many other projects;

Whereas Congressman Don Young pushed legislation and policies that built roads and pipelines, restricted purchases of conservation lands, and limited the reach of burdensome Federal rules;

Whereas Congressman Don Young successfully passed 204 bills through the House of Representatives;

Whereas Congressman Don Young successfully saw 85 of his bills signed into law; and

Whereas Congressman Don Young was commonly found at his reserved seat, which was a source of great camaraderie and inspiration within the chamber of the House and which was often the site of countless conversations and debates about House business: Now, therefore, be it

That the House of Representatives—


honors the life and legacy of the late Congressman Don Young of Alaska; and


directs the Sergeant at Arms, in consultation with the Republican Leader and the Architect of the Capitol, to select and provide appropriate marking and designation for a Don Young Reserved Seat on the floor of the chamber of the House, and to preserve the seat as a permanent tribute in honor of the distinguished service of Congressman Don Young.