skip to main content

H.R. 8394 (95th): Refuge Revenue Sharing Act

We don’t have a summary available yet.

The summary below was written by the Congressional Research Service, which is a nonpartisan division of the Library of Congress.

9/25/1978--Passed Senate amended. (Measure passed Senate, amended) Amends the Refuge Revenue Sharing Act of 1935 to require the deposit of all revenues from the sale or disposition of salmonoid carcasses from National Fish Hatcheries in the refuge revenue sharing fund. Directs the Secretary of the Interior to make additional refuge revenue sharing payments, on a fiscal year basis, to each local government unit in which entitlement lands are located. Specifies the formulae for determining refuge revenue sharing payments to counties. Includes Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Virgin Islands within the coverage of this Act by considering them counties for the purpose of distributing payments. Directs the Secretary to appraise, before September 30, 1979, all fee areas for which payments were not previously authorized. Requires that all other fee areas be appraised within five years and in five year intervals thereafter, from the date of enactment of this Act. Requires counties which receive payments under this Act with respect to any fee area or reserve area to distribute payments on a proportional basis to other units of local government within the county if these other units have incurred a loss or reduction of real property tax revenues due to the acquisition of lands by the United States for the National Wildlife Refuge System. Provides that reserve areas shall be deemed "entitlement lands" for the purpose of administering the Payment in Lieu of Taxes Act of 1976. Includes lands where semiactive or inactive Army installations are located in the definition of "entitlement lands", effective October 1, 1978. Excludes Army industrial installations from such definition. Permits payments for land acquired by State or local governments from private parties for donation to the Federal Government and which is so donated within eight years of acquisition, beginning fiscal year 1979. Authorizes payments to local government units in Alaska located outside organized boroughs which act as collecting and distributing agencies for real property taxes, beginning fiscal year 1979.