Alabama is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and seven representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Scroll down for a map of the districts.


Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state.

Senior Senator
Richard Shelby
Took Office: Jan 6, 1987
Next Election: 2016
Party: Republican
Junior Senator
Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions
Took Office: Jan 7, 1997
Next Election: 2020
Party: Republican


The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts — 7 in Alabama — each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

1st District
Bradley Byrne
Took Office: Jan 8, 2014
Party: Republican
Baldwin County, Mobile County, Washington ...
2nd District
Martha Roby
Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Party: Republican
Covington County, Barbour County, Conecuh ...
3rd District
Mike Rogers
Took Office: Jan 7, 2003
Party: Republican
Tallapoosa County, Talladega County, St. ...
4th District
Robert Aderholt
Took Office: Jan 7, 1997
Party: Republican
Walker County, DeKalb County, Cullman ...
5th District
Mo Brooks
Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Party: Republican
Jackson County, Madison County, Lauderdale ...
6th District
Gary Palmer
Took Office: Jan 6, 2015
Party: Republican
Shelby County, Chilton County, Coosa ...
7th District
Terri Sewell
Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Party: Democrat
Dallas County, Marengo County, Choctaw ...