Connecticut is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and five representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. Connecticut’s senators are:

Senior Senator

Richard Blumenthal

Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Next Election: 2016
Junior Senator

Christopher Murphy

Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Next Election: 2018

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

Connecticut’s representatives are:

1st District

John Larson

Took Office: Jan 6, 1999
Bristol, West Hartford, East Hartford, ...
2nd District

Joe Courtney

Took Office: Jan 4, 2007
Windham County, Tolland County and ...
3rd District

Rosa DeLauro

Took Office: Jan 3, 1991
Milford city (balance), North Haven, ...
4th District

James Himes

Took Office: Jan 6, 2009
Stamford, Norwalk, Westport, Trumbull, Darien, ...
5th District

Elizabeth Esty

Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Danbury and parts of Litchfield ...