skip to main content

District of Columbia

The District of Columbia (DC) is the nation’s capital district. Although DC has a larger population than some states, the District is not one of the fifty states and so has no senators and its representative in the House of Representatives is a delegate with limited voting privileges. Delegates have a marginalized role in Congress and their constituents are not represented in Congress in the same manner as most citizens.

District of Columbia’s one representative, called an “at-large” representative because they represent the entire area, is:

Eleanor Holmes Norton
At Large

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Since Jan 3, 1991

All representatives serve until the end of the current Congress on Jan 3, 2025.