Delaware is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and one representatives in the United States House of Representatives.


Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state.

Senior Senator
Thomas Carper
Took Office: Jan 3, 2001
Next Election: 2018
Party: Democrat
Junior Senator
Chris Coons
Took Office: Nov 15, 2010
Next Election: 2020
Party: Democrat


The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts — 1 in Delaware — each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

At Large
John Carney
Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Party: Democrat