Iowa is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and four representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. Iowa’s senators are:

Senior Senator

Charles “Chuck” Grassley

Since Jan 5, 1981
Next Election in 2022
Junior Senator

Joni Ernst

Since Jan 6, 2015
Next Election in 2020

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

Iowa’s representatives are:

1st District

Rod Blum

Since Jan 6, 2015
2nd District

David Loebsack

Since Jan 4, 2007
3rd District

David Young

Since Jan 6, 2015
4th District

Steve King

Since Jan 3, 2013