Louisiana is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and six representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. Louisiana’s senators are:

Senior Senator

David Vitter

Took Office: Jan 4, 2005
Next Election: 2016
Junior Senator

Bill Cassidy

Took Office: Jan 6, 2015
Next Election: 2020

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

Louisiana’s representatives are:

1st District

Steve Scalise

Took Office: May 7, 2008
Plaquemines Parish, St. Bernard Parish, ...
2nd District

Cedric Richmond

Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
St. James Parish, Lake Catherine, ...
3rd District

Charles Boustany Jr.

Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Cameron Parish, Vermilion Parish, St. ...
4th District

John Fleming

Took Office: Jan 6, 2009
Vernon Parish, Natchitoches Parish, Beauregard ...
5th District

Ralph Abraham

Took Office: Jan 6, 2015
Rapides Parish, Winn Parish, Avoyelles ...
6th District

Garret Graves

Took Office: Jan 6, 2015
Livingston Parish, Pointe Coupee Parish ...