Louisiana is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and six representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. Louisiana’s senators are:

Senior Senator

David Vitter

Since Jan 4, 2005
Next Election in 2016
Junior Senator

Bill Cassidy

Since Jan 6, 2015
Next Election in 2020

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

Louisiana’s representatives are:

1st District

Steve Scalise

Since May 7, 2008
Plaquemines Parish, St. Bernard Parish, ...
2nd District

Cedric Richmond

Since Jan 5, 2011
St. James Parish, Lake Catherine, ...
3rd District

Charles Boustany Jr.

Since Jan 3, 2013
Cameron Parish, Vermilion Parish, St. ...
4th District

John Fleming

Since Jan 6, 2009
Vernon Parish, Natchitoches Parish, Beauregard ...
5th District

Ralph Abraham

Since Jan 6, 2015
Rapides Parish, Winn Parish, Avoyelles ...
6th District

Garret Graves

Since Jan 6, 2015
Livingston Parish, Pointe Coupee Parish ...