Maryland is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and eight representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Scroll down for a map of the districts.


Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state.

Senior Senator
Barbara Mikulski
Took Office: Jan 6, 1987
Next Election: 2016
Party: Democrat
Junior Senator
Benjamin Cardin
Took Office: Jan 4, 2007
Next Election: 2018
Party: Democrat


The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts — 8 in Maryland — each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

1st District
Andy Harris
Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Party: Republican
Dorchester County, Worcester County, Somerset ...
2nd District
A. Dutch Ruppersberger
Took Office: Jan 7, 2003
Party: Democrat
Edgemere, Dundalk, Aberdeen Proving Ground, ...
3rd District
John Sarbanes
Took Office: Jan 4, 2007
Party: Democrat
Pikesville, Annapolis Neck, Ashton-Sandy Spring, ...
4th District
Donna Edwards
Took Office: Jun 19, 2008
Party: Democrat
Severna Park, Arnold, Westphalia, Gambrills, ...
5th District
Steny Hoyer
Took Office: Jan 5, 1981
Party: Democrat
St. Mary's County, Charles County, ...
6th District
John Delaney
Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Party: Democrat
Garrett County, Washington County, Allegany ...
7th District
Elijah Cummings
Took Office: Apr 16, 1996
Party: Democrat
Ellicott City, Catonsville and parts ...
8th District
Chris Van Hollen Jr.
Took Office: Jan 7, 2003
Party: Democrat
Eldersburg and parts of Frederick ...