Minnesota is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and eight representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. Minnesota’s senators are:

Senior Senator

Amy Klobuchar

Since Jan 4, 2007
Next Election in 2018
Junior Senator

Alan “Al” Franken

Since Jul 7, 2009
Next Election in 2020

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

Minnesota’s representatives are:

1st District

Timothy Walz

Since Jan 4, 2007
Fillmore County, Blue Earth County, ...
2nd District

John Kline

Since Jan 7, 2003
Goodhue County, Dakota County, Wabasha ...
3rd District

Erik Paulsen

Since Jan 6, 2009
Bloomington, Corcoran, Plymouth, Maple Grove, ...
4th District

Betty McCollum

Since Jan 3, 2001
Ramsey County, St. Paul, Woodbury, ...
5th District

Keith Ellison

Since Jan 4, 2007
Minneapolis, Fridley, St. Louis Park, ...
6th District

Tom Emmer

Since Jan 6, 2015
Wright County, Sherburne County, Benton ...
7th District

Collin Peterson

Since Jan 3, 1991
Otter Tail County, Polk County, ...
8th District

Richard Nolan

Since Jan 3, 2013
St. Louis County, Cook County, ...