skip to main content


Montana has two senators in the United States Senate and one representatives in the United States House of Representatives. Montana is a state in the United States.


Each state in the United States elects two senators, regardless of the state’s population. Senators serve six-year terms with staggered elections. Americans in the United States’s six territories do not have senators.

Montana’s senators are:

Jon Tester
Senior Senator

Jon Tester

Since Jan 4, 2007
Next Election in 2024
Steve Daines
Junior Senator

Steve Daines

Since Jan 6, 2015
Next Election in 2026


The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House of Representatives for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen. Americans in the United States’s six territories are represented in the House of Representatives by an additional six non-voting delegates.

Montana’s one representative, called an “at-large” representative because they represent the entire state, is:

Matthew Rosendale
At Large

Matthew Rosendale

Since Jan 3, 2021
(Current term ends Jan 3, 2023)

Map of Congressional Districts