North Dakota

North Dakota is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and one representatives in the United States House of Representatives.


Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state.

Senior Senator
John Hoeven
Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Next Election: 2016
Party: Republican
Junior Senator
Heidi Heitkamp
Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Next Election: 2018
Party: Democrat


The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts — 1 in North Dakota — each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

At Large
Kevin Cramer
Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Party: Republican