New Mexico

New Mexico is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and three representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Scroll down for a map of the districts.


Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state.

Senior Senator
Tom Udall
Took Office: Jan 6, 2009
Next Election: 2020
Junior Senator
Martin Heinrich
Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Next Election: 2018


The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts — 3 in New Mexico — each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

1st District
Michelle Lujan Grisham
Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Torrance County and parts of ...
2nd District
Stevan “Steve” Pearce
Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Catron County, Socorro County, Otero ...
3rd District
Ben Luján
Took Office: Jan 6, 2009
Rio Arriba County, San Juan ...