Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico is a territory of the United States. It sends a delegate to the House of Representatives, called the Resident Commissioner, with essentially no voting privileges and has no senators in the United States Congress.

Resident Commissioner

Delegates may vote within committees but they are not permitted to vote on anything on the House floor, including on bills. Thus delegates have a marginal role in Congress, and their constituents are not represented in Congress in the same manner as most citizens.

Pedro Pierluisi
Jan 6, 2009-Present