Rhode Island

Rhode Island is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and two representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. Rhode Island’s senators are:

Senior Senator

John “Jack” Reed

Took Office: Jan 7, 1997
Next Election: 2020
Junior Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse

Took Office: Jan 4, 2007
Next Election: 2018

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

Rhode Island’s representatives are:

1st District

David Cicilline

Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Newport County, Bristol County, East ...
2nd District

James “Jim” Langevin

Took Office: Jan 3, 2001
Washington County, Kent County, Warwick, ...