South Carolina

South Carolina is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and seven representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. South Carolina’s senators are:

Senior Senator

Lindsey Graham

Took Office: Jan 7, 2003
Next Election: 2020
Junior Senator

Tim Scott

Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Next Election: 2016

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

South Carolina’s representatives are:

1st District

Marshall “Mark” Sanford

Took Office: May 15, 2013
Hilton Head Island, Bluffton, Mount ...
2nd District

Joe Wilson

Took Office: Dec 18, 2001
Aiken County, Lexington County, Barnwell ...
3rd District

Jeff Duncan

Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Anderson County, Laurens County, Oconee ...
4th District

Trey Gowdy

Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
5th District

Mick Mulvaney

Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Kershaw County, Fairfield County, York ...
6th District

James “Jim” Clyburn

Took Office: Jan 5, 1993
Williamsburg County, Clarendon County, Jasper ...
7th District

Tom Rice

Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Horry County, Georgetown County, Chesterfield ...