South Dakota

South Dakota is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and one representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. South Dakota’s senators are:

Senior Senator

John Thune

Since Jan 4, 2005
Next Election in 2022
Junior Senator

Mike Rounds

Since Jan 6, 2015
Next Election in 2020

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

South Dakota’s representative is:

At Large

Kristi Noem

Since Jan 5, 2011