Washington is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and 10 representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year terms. Senators represent the entire state. Washington’s senators are:

Senior Senator

Patty Murray

Took Office: Jan 5, 1993
Next Election: 2016
Junior Senator

Maria Cantwell

Took Office: Jan 3, 2001
Next Election: 2018

The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts, each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen.

Find your representative by entering your address:

Washington’s representatives are:

1st District

Suzan DelBene

Took Office: Nov 13, 2012
Parts of Whatcom County, Snohomish ...
2nd District

Rick Larsen

Took Office: Jan 3, 2001
San Juan County, Island County, ...
3rd District

Jaime Herrera Beutler

Took Office: Jan 5, 2011
Lewis County, Klickitat County, Skamania ...
4th District

Dan Newhouse

Took Office: Jan 6, 2015
Okanogan County, Yakima County, Grant ...
5th District

Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Took Office: Jan 4, 2005
Stevens County, Lincoln County, Ferry ...
6th District

Derek Kilmer

Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Clallam County, Grays Harbor County, ...
7th District

Jim McDermott

Took Office: Jan 3, 1989
Vashon, Edmonds, Shoreline, Burien
8th District

David Reichert

Took Office: Jan 4, 2005
Chelan County, Kittitas County
9th District

Adam Smith

Took Office: Jan 7, 1997
Bellevue, Renton, Federal Way, SeaTac, ...
10th District

Denny Heck

Took Office: Jan 3, 2013
Olympia, Lakewood and parts of ...