skip to main content

Rep. David “Madison” Cawthorn

Representative for North Carolina’s 11th District

Cawthorn is the representative for North Carolina’s 11th congressional district (view map) and is a Republican. He has served since Jan 3, 2021. Cawthorn is next up for reelection in 2022 and serves until Jan 3, 2023.

On January 6, 2021 in the hours after the attack on the Capitol, Cawthorn voted for the exclusion of Arizona and/or Pennsylvania — states narrowly won by Democrats — from the count of Electoral College votes that determined the next President of the United States. Legislators voting to disenfranchise these states were fooled by, or actively participated in, the same lies, conspiracy theories, and preposterous legal arguments about the election that motivated the insurrection at the Capitol.
Photo of Rep. David “Madison” Cawthorn [R-NC11]

Committee Membership

David “Madison” Cawthorn sits on the following committees:

Bills Sponsored

Some of Cawthorn’s most recently sponsored bills include...

View All » | View Cosponsors »

Voting Record

Key Votes

Cawthorn voted Yea

Failed 250/168 on May 11, 2021.

Cawthorn voted Not Voting

Cawthorn voted Not Voting

Cawthorn voted Yea

Missed Votes

From Jan 2021 to Jun 2021, Cawthorn missed 23 of 174 roll call votes, which is 13.2%. This is much worse than the median of 2.0% among the lifetime records of representatives currently serving. The chart below reports missed votes over time.

We don’t track why legislators miss votes, but it’s often due to medical absenses and major life events.

Show the numbers...

Primary Sources

The information on this page is originally sourced from a variety of materials, including: