skip to main content

2013 Report Cards
House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs / Powerful Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2013 legislative year (Jan 3, 2013-Dec 26, 2013), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Dec 1, 2014.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Powerful Cosponsors

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in 2013 that had a cosponsor who was a chair or ranking member of a committee that the bill was referred to. Getting support from committee leaders on relevant committees is a crucial step in moving legislation forward.

House Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most often
#1 14 Rep. George Miller [D-CA11, 2013-2014]
#2 12 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#3 9 Rep. John Conyers [D-MI13, 2013-2017]
#3 9 Rep. Bob Goodlatte [R-VA6, 1993-2018]
#5 7 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#6 6 Rep. Eliot Engel [D-NY16]
#7 5 Rep. Dave Camp [R-MI4, 1993-2014]
#7 5 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#7 5 Rep. Jeff Miller [R-FL1, 2001-2016]
#7 5 Rep. Bill Shuster [R-PA9, 2001-2018]
#7 5 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#7 5 Rep. Bennie Thompson [D-MS2]
#13 4 Rep. Candice Miller [R-MI10, 2003-2016]
#13 4 Rep. Louise Slaughter [D-NY25, 2013-2018]
#13 4 Rep. Fred Upton [R-MI6]
#16 3 Rep. Elijah Cummings [D-MD7, 1996-2019]
#16 3 Rep. Peter DeFazio [D-OR4]
#16 3 Rep. Gregg Harper [R-MS3, 2009-2018]
#16 3 Rep. Doc Hastings [R-WA4, 1995-2014]
#16 3 Rep. Michael Michaud [D-ME2, 2003-2014]
#16 3 Rep. Christopher “Chris” Smith [R-NJ4]
#16 3 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#16 3 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#24 2 Rep. Howard “Buck” McKeon [R-CA25, 1993-2014]
#24 2 Rep. Nick Rahall [D-WV3, 1993-2014]
#24 2 Rep. Mike Rogers [R-MI8, 2001-2014]
#24 2 Rep. Adam Smith [D-WA9]
#24 2 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#24 2 Rep. Henry Waxman [D-CA33, 2013-2014]
#30 1 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#30 1 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#30 1 Rep. Sander Levin [D-MI9, 2013-2018]
#30 1 Rep. Nita Lowey [D-NY17]
#30 1 Rep. Frank Lucas [R-OK3]
#30 1 Rep. Paul Ryan [R-WI1, 1999-2018]
#36 0 Rep. Robert Brady [D-PA1, 1998-2018]
#36 0 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#36 0 Rep. Sam Graves [R-MO6]
#36 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#36 0 Rep. John Kline [R-MN2, 2003-2016]
#36 0 Rep. Collin Peterson [D-MN7]
#36 0 Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers [R-KY5]
#36 0 Rep. A. Dutch Ruppersberger [D-MD2]
#36 0 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#36 0 Rep. Nydia Velázquez [D-NY7]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2013) was the 113th Congress (freshmen) or 112th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.